English 102 (Writing About Literature) Research Guide: The Reader
The Reader
The Reader: The Essay
Use Literature Resource Center to find critical articles about this novel.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowUse the Advanced Search & search:
The Reader--Name of Work
Schlink--Person
Includes critical essays, articles, & book & movie reviews - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on any topic in this large general database
Holocaust Guards: Roles, Level of Knowledge, Punishment
The subject heading is Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Also: Jews persecution--Europe--History--20th century
Additional search strategies to try:
- holocaust and war crime trials
- concentration camp* and guard*
Use the catalog to find more books. Use databases to find articles.
Selected Books & Recommended Databases:
- Historical Atlas of the HolocaustCall Number: REF G1797.21 E29 H5
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against HumanityCall Number: REF HV6322.7 E532
- The Holocaust Encyclopedia (e-book)Also available in the print reference collection: REF D804.25 H66
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowFull text of historical encyclopedias and non-fiction books and leading history periodicals--includes historical documents, photos, maps, film, and video
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
The subject heading is: Post-traumatic stress disorder
- For more specific information, add a second concept separating the concepts with AND
- symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, therapy, psychological aspects
- Use the Advanced Search to search by subject, NOT by keyword
- Find whole books (or articles) about it
- Its always better to spell out a term rather than use an abbreviation (PTSD)
Use the catalog to find more books. Use databases to find articles.
Selected Books & Recommended Databases:
- Encyclopedia of StressCall Number: REF BF575 S75 E52
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
The Reader: Group Research
Doing research will help establish context & improve understanding & interpretation of The Reader.
Suggested search terms & search strategies are provided for each of the group topics.
- Use these search strategies in both the catalog (to find books) & the research databases (to find articles).
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search this database to find a variety of reference sources.
Brain Development: Differences Between Adult & Teenage Brains
The subject headings are: brain, teenagers, adults, cognition, adult learning, development, adolescence
- Try searches like:
- adult* and brain
- teenagers and brain
- adolescen* and cognitive and development
- brain development and biological
Use the catalog to find more books. Use the databases to find articles.
Selected Books & Recommended Databases:
- Handbook of Adolescent PsychologyCall Number: REF BF 724 H33Chapter 4 is on Brain Development; Chapter 6 is on Adolescent Thinking
- The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology (e-book)See Brain Development.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health (e-book)See Cognitive Development.
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
Adult Illiteracy--Indications, Coping Strategies
The subject heading is illiteracy, but it can be problematic. Alternative terms: adult literacy, low literacy, functional literacy.
Try searches like:
- adult literacy AND coping
- adult literacy AND self-esteem
Use the catalog to find more books. Use databases to find articles.
Selected Books & Recommended Databases:
- Encyclopedia of American EducationCall Number: REF LB17 U54
- Encyclopedia of Social ProblemsCall Number: REF HN28 E55See Literacy
- Encyclopedia of StressCall Number: REF BF575 S75 E52See information on coping
- Social Issues in AmericaCall Number: REF HN57 S624See Literacy in Vol. 4
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window