Education Research Guide: History of Education in the U.S.
A guide to resources in education
Reference Sources
Start your research with Reference Sources to:
- Find background information about people in American education & the history of education in the U.S.
- Find information about any of the topics for this assignment
- Identify good keywords for searching other sources
- Identify additional sources
- Be sure to look at the appendices in the last volume of the education encyclopedias--they include chronologies, court cases, etc.
Encyclopedia of American educationCall Number: REF LB17 U54 2007ISBN: 9780816068876
Encyclopedia of educationCall Number: REF LB15 E47 2003ISBN: 002865594X
Encyclopedia of world biography (e-book)ISBN: 0787691240Look for articles on Horace Mann, W.E.B. DuBois, etc.
World education encyclopedia (e-book)ISBN: 0787676969"Detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries"
Selected Books By & About Educators
Because there are numerous books in the collection, only e-books are listed here.
Search the catalog by subject under the Find Books tab above to find additional books on American educators. Search by author for books written by well-known educators.
Teachers, leaders, and schools essays by John Dewey (e-book)ISBN: 9780809329991
The education of John Dewey a biography (e-book)ISBN: 0231116764
Up from slavery (e-book) by ISBN: 0140390510
Education in America (1900-2009)
- Thirties in America - Nineties in America (Salem History)Call Number: REF E 169.12 F67Available in print & online
Select the title for the decade of interest in the From box--there is an article on education in the volumes for each decade 
American Decades (1900 - 1999)Call Number: REF E169.12 A419ISBN: 0810357224Available in print & online. The volume for each decade has a chapter on education, including a chronology
Selected Circulating Books
Books with call numbers are in the Circulating Collection on the Lower Level.
Preparing America's teachers : a historyCall Number: LB 1715 F697 2007ISBN: 9780807747353
Secondary schools : a reference handbookCall Number: LA 222 V55 2003ISBN: 1576079813
Congress and the classroom : from the Cold War to "No Child Left Behind"Call Number: LC 89 A78 2007ISBN: 9780271032238
Getting in the game Title IX and the women's sports revolution (e-book)ISBN: 9780814799659
Finding Additional Resources
Find additional books by searching the catalog under the Find Books tab above.
Find articles by searching the education databases under the Find Articles tab above.
Subject Headings
Use the language found in the following related subject headings to construct searches in both the catalog and the databases:
- Education--United States--history
- Teachers--training of--United States
- Teachers colleges--United States
- High schools--United States--history
- Public schools
- Education, secondary
- High schools
- Minorities--education--United States
- Multicultural education--United States
- Children of minorities--education--United States
- Hispanic Americans--education--United States
- Indians of North America--education
- Indian students--United States
- Asian American students--education
- Asian Americans--education
- African Americans--education
- Discrimination in education--United States--history
- Federal aid to education--United States
- Educational law and legislation--United States
- Head start programs--United States
- Project Head Start (U.S.)--history
- Head Start Program (U.S.)--history
- Topeka (Kan.)--Board of Education--trials, litigation, etc.
- Segregation in education--law and legislation
- School integration
- African Americans--civil rights--history
- Civil rights--United States
- Civil rights movements
- Poverty--government policy
- United States. Education Amendments of 1972. Title IX
- Sex discrimination in sports--law and legislation--United States
- Women athletes--legal status, laws, etc.--United States
Search for books about people by searching by subject:
- Mann, Horace (see encyclopedias & articles)
- Dewey, John
- Washington, Booker T.
- DuBois, W.E.B. (see encyclopedias & articles)
On the Internet
- History of Education"History of American Education Web Project was originally undertaken as a class assignment by members of an undergraduate Foundations of Education class . . ." Students wrote reports which were edited by the instructor. The original content was not changed.
- Nineteenth Century SchoolbooksDigital collection from the U. of Pittsburgh
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly articles on the Internet