This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Learning Guide: Find Articles

Need Help? Ask a Question Online

  • Call or email the Reference Desk for research assistance (see Research Help box)
  • Chat with a Carroll Librarian during library open hours on the library website or
  • Use our online reference form below:

What are Research Databases?

Research databases contain articles from periodical publications such as:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers

These articles are published daily, weekly, or monthly (periodically).

The library subscribes to these databases yearly.

Databases may contain:

  • The full text of some articles
  • A combination of full text and citations/abstracts
    • An abstract is a summary of the article
  • Images and audio
  • Articles from reference books

Use the Help screens for information on how to search or ask a librarian

Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access databases with a computer off-campus.

Tutorials & Help with Databases

Off-Campus Access to Online Resources

Remote users will be prompted to provide their college ID number after clicking on the link for a research database or an electronic book.

Databases by Subject

Access the library's selection of research databases via the library website.

Database links are organized by subject.

Search all databases relating to the topic to locate the best information.

General databases include information on all topics.

Finding Periodicals

Do you need an article listed in the references of another article or in the bibliography of a book?

To learn how to find out what periodical titles are available in this library in full text and what years are available, take this tutorial on our E-Journal Finder.

Librarian Profile

Profile Photo
Robert Krzanowski
Contact:
410-386-8337