Skip to Main Content
Carroll Library Partnership
Maps and Directions
Carroll Community College
Art Research Guide
Search this Guide
Art Research Guide: Web Sites
Basic resources for art courses
General Art/Art History Sites
Art History Resources on the Web
Well-organized collection of excellent links. Sites collected by professor of art history at Sweet Briar College. Access by geographic area, time period, and more. Includes non-Western art.
Commercial site with access to information and links by artist or category such as women artists. Includes photographers. Excerpts of information fromreliable sources. Lots of images.
Lots of art history, artist, and artist website links.
Website for Art News and Information, some articles available.
Mother of All Art and Art History Links
From the University of Michigan. Huge collection of links including image and photograph collections, new media and video art.
Vision and Art
Tutorials on perception and art. Includes depth, color, and form perception. Images and animations illustrate the phenomena with examples from a specific painting.
17th Century Dutch Paintings
From the National Gallery of Art
The Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution
Site of the National Museum of Asian Art for the United States. Lists current exhibitions and photos/text of one item in the exhibition.
Himalayan Art Resources
Resources and images on the art of the Himalayan Region created and maintained by the Shelley and Donald Rubin Foundation.
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
Part of the WWW Virtual Library. Links to many online exhibits and other Native American art related sites.
Islamic Arts and Architecture Organization
Site dedicated to the promotion of Islamic arts provides information about architecture, calligraphy and other art forms. Links to museums and information on current exhibitions of Islamic art.
The Jewish Museum
Take an interactive tour online and view the exhibitions.
Museum for African American Art
Tour the present and past exhibitions.
National Museum of African Art
Exhibitions link contains photos with information on the geographic area and the artworks. Also African Art on the Web links.
National Museum of the American Indian
Part of the Smithsonian Institution, this site gives information with photos on exhibits and has links to other sites.
Precolumbia Art Research Institute
Purpose of the institute is to support research on Mesoamerican art, archaeology, and glyphs. Articles, photos, and links via the "Mesoweb".
The Reginal F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African American History & Culture
Enter the site. Try the photo gallery and exhibitions and collections links.
Sherwin Miller Museum of Jewish Art
View information and images from the permanent collection and exhibitions.
The Studio Museum in Harlem
Exhibtions section has some information on the featured artists.
Great Buildings Online
Free service of Artifice, Inc provides biographical and critical information on architects. Access by architectural type, specific building, places.
Web site created and maintained by a structural and bridge engineer. With a focus on structural and civil engineering, this site has data on approx. 40, 000 structures from around the world in all time periods.
Includes buildings, bridges, tunnels, towers, & dams usually with excellent photographs and links to other sites.
Selected Museum Sites
These museum links are arranged alphabetically by the name of the museum.
American Folk Art Museum
American Visionary Art Museum
The Art Institute of Chicago
Baltimore Museum of Art
The British Museum
The research section has an indepth search feature which accesses over a million items. Take a tour or look at exhibitions.
Post 1960's art. Scupture, painting, photography, installations. Houses work that because of scale or character is not easily displayed in other museums.
Georgia O'Keeffe Museum
"Collection Online" link allows you to search by artist, title, date, movement, medium, or concept. Short artist biographies and color images.
Guggenheim Museum Bilbao
Famous for its dramatic architecture by architect, Frank Gehry. Known for its collection of "... significant artists of the second half of the 20th century."
Hirschhorn Musuem and Sculpture Garden
The J. Paul Getty Museum of Art
The "Explore Art" section can be searched by artist, medium, or subject and includes color imag
The Los Angeles County Museum of Art Collections Online
The Louvre Museum
Publications produced by the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC. Includes their issues of Bulletin and Journal for the last 50 years.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Lots of quality images. Good search capability.
Museum of Modern Art
National Gallery of Art--Washington
National Museum of Women in the Arts
National Portrait Gallery
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Over 8000 images online.
Walters Art Museum
Whitney Museum of American Art
American Museum of Photograpy
Virtual museum with exhibitions of images mostly taken between 1850-1950.
Center for Creative Photography Digital Collections
Access to an extensive collection of photographs through the University of Arizona.
International Center of Photography
Museum and Resources tabs get you to information and images in current exhibitions, the permanent collection, tips for photographers, and links to other resources.
Animation and Comics
Don Markstein's Toonopedia
Internet Archive: Film Chest Vintage Cartoons
Jerry Beck's Cartoon Research
Carroll Community College Library
1601 Washington Rd.
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: (410) 386-8335
Oct 9, 2023 9:25 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.