Reading Research Guide (Education): Children's Literature

From the Association for Library Service to Children

Best of the best in children's books, recordings, videos, and computer software from the Association for Library Service to Children

Six literary awards honor the best books for teens each year--the Young Adult Library Services Association also publishes selected booklists recommending great books for teens

From the Cooperative Children's Book Center, School of Education, U. of Wisconsin, Madison

Database of award-winning children's literature from six English language-speaking countries--retrieve titles by age level, country, urban or rural, ethnicity/nationality or gender of protagonist, language, keyword/phrase, multicultural aspect, publication year, author/translator, and award--created by an academic librarian at CSU San Bernadino

From the Children's Book Council

Created by a librarian, this database offers searching by: age, setting, historical period, language, awards, genre, gender of protagonist, year of publication, and more.

From the U.S. Board on Books for Young People

"Independent, opinionated, and stylish, The Horn Book Magazine has long been essential for everyone who cares about children's and young adult literature."

"The world's largest reviewer of books, multimedia, & technology for children & teens."

"Serves as the U.S. national section of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), which was founded to promote international understanding and good will through books for children and adolescents."

Information on authors and illustrators, thematic bibliographies, best-of-the-year lists, and links to other children's literature sites

Digitized, primarily historical collection of over 600 works from before 1850 to beyond the 1950's from the U.S. and Great Britain

Digitized books from around the world categorized by length, age group, & subject

Contains more than 100,000 volumes published in Great Britain and the United States from the early 1700s through the current year.

Digitized books for children from around the world, from U. of California Libraries (list), the U. of Florida's "Literature for Children" Collection, the National Yiddish Book Center, the New York Public Library, International Children's Digital Library, and more

Designed for anyone interested children's books-contains hundreds of book reviews--search for books by author, title, reading level, interest area, number of pages, and illustrator

"National multimedia project offering information and resources to the parents and educators of struggling adolescent readers and writers"

A bibliography for designing literature-based thematic units for all disciplines

Click on the green button for "Reviews" and search by grade level--also reviews digital resources, multimedia, & Spanish language materials

"A community of reviewers, librarians, teachers, authors, illustrators, publishers, parents, and other book enthusiasts who blog about children’s and young adult literature."

Annotated bibliographies on high-interest topics for teens such as weight and eating disorders, gay teens, rock bands, teen vampires, spirituality, and drugs--created by a middle school librarian

From a professor of American Indian Studies at U. of Illinois