Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Start with Reference Sources?
Start researching a topic by reading an article in a general or specialized encyclopedia, also known as reference sources.
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print reference books are located on the main floor of the library.
They are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress system.
Electronic reference sources are available through the catalog under Find Books and under the link for Online Reference Resources below.
The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas for the Gale eBooks collection.
These ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students. Users will be prompted for the 7 digit college ID to access e-books with a computer off-campus.
These books can be identifed by searching the catalog or by searching the Gale platform below:
Search the entire library using the search box at the top of the screen, or select a topical area from the menu on the left and search only within that area.
Selected Ebook Reference Sources
Call Number: REF HQ772 C436 2002
Available in print & electronic format
Selected Print Resources
Search the catalog under Find Books to find additional reference sources or
Browse the Reference Collection in the following areas:
- L = education
- BF = psychology
- HQ = the family
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Call Number: REF HQ767.9 C35 2005
Early Childhood Education: an International Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF LB1139.23 E272 2007
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood
Call Number: REF HQ767.84 E53 2004
Handbook of Child Psychology
Call Number: REF BF721 H242 2006
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Call Number: REF HM626 E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
Call Number: REF LB15 E473 2005