This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Language Research Guide: Reference Resources

A guide to French language resources

Reference Hints

Librarians usually recommend beginning with reliable reference sources like encyclopedias to give you the background you need to focus your research.  Use the boxes to help you find print and electronic resources.  The print reference resources are located on the main floor of the library.  Use the call letters and numbers to help you find them.  Ask a librarian for help if need assistance.

E-Reference Resources

The library has purchased some e-reference resources for your assignments.  From off-campus, you will need to enter your CCC college ID number to access them.

Try these for your biography assignment.  You may want to use the general sources to help you determine basic facts about your person and the subject  in which your person is reknowned.  Then you can use the specialized subject sources to more in-depth information.

Print Reference Resources

Selected Sources for French Biographical Reference :

Ref. B 51 E53               Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Ref. BX 4655.3 H33       Lives of the Saints

Ref. CT 100 C87            Current Biography

Ref. CT 759 R47            European Historical Biography

Ref. D 412 H57             Historic World Leaders 

Ref. D 740 E516            The Encyclopedia of World War II

Ref. ML 105 B16           Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians

Ref. N 31 D5                  Dictionary of Art (34 volumes) (also available online as Oxford Art Online)

Ref. N 31 E4833            Encyclopedia of World Art

Ref. N 33 P68               Praeger Encyclopedia of Art

Ref. NB 198 E53           Encyclopedia of Sculpture

Ref. PQ 41 L48             Guide to French Literature

Ref. PQ 41 N49             The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French

Ref. Q 141 D5               Dictionary of Scientific Biography