Skip to Main Content

Encyclopedias and Directories: Arts / Literature / Popular Culture

Art

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Art encyclopedia.

Theatre

Music

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Music encyclopedia.

Popular Culture

Literature

Black Literature Criticism
Critical Survey of American Literature (Salem)
Critical Survey of Drama (Salem)
Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore (Salem)
Critical Survey of Poetry (Salem)
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays (Salem)
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Sonnets (Salem)
Critical Survey of Short Fiction (Salem)
Drama for Students
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature
Covers American authors from various periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts (biographical, literary, historical) in which literature can be viewed
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature
Covers world authors from various periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts (biographical, literary, historical) in which literature can be viewed
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice
Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace
Novels for Students
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Scroll down to use the "search within work" keyword search box.
Poetry for Students
Shakespeare for Students
Short Stories for Students

Research Help

Contact:

Call Us: (410) 386-8340
Text Us: (410) 983-3542

Email Us: ref_desk@carrollcc.edu