This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

National Registry Paramedic: Websites

EMS web sites

Carroll County Office of Public Safety Support Services - Operates Carroll County's Emergency Communication Center, Emergency Operations Center, Emergency Management, and Fire Protection Engineering. Also provides liaison services with fire and police organizations.

Charles W. Riley Fire and Emergency Medical Services Tuition Reimbursement Program - Scholarship opportunities for active career or volunteer firefighters, ambulance, or rescue squad members. Offered by the Maryland Higher Education Commission.

Disaster Information Management Research Center - This division of the National Library of Medicine provides resources for disaster preparation, response, and recovery.

Emergency Medical Services Program - Information about Carroll Community College's Associate of Applied Science program.

Emergency Preparedness and Response - Sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this site provides numerous resources in disaster preparedness and response.

EMS.gov - A U.S. government effort "to reduce death and disability by providing leadership and coordination to the EMS community in assessing, planning, developing, and promoting comprehensive, evidence-based emergency medical services and 9-1-1 systems."

EMSWorld - Popular source of EMS news and training opportunities.

EMT and Paramedic Career Outlook - The Bureau of Labor Statistics' discussion of this career, including salaries, job prospects, and working conditions.

FirstResponder.gov - Scientific and technical information for first responders. Provided by the Department of Homeland Security.

Maryland Institute for EMS Systems - MIEMSS aims "to formalize, through statute and regulation, the administration, regulation and operation of the statewide EMS system."

National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians - Professional organization for EMS practitioners.

National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians - The certifying agency for emergency medical technicians.

U.S. Fire Administration - An entity of FEMA, the USFA provides models, protocols, and research articles designed to assure the well-being of emergency responders.

Free health web sites

The following web sites provide free access to medical information. These are generally NOT scholarly resources and should not be cited as such. Additionally, students should take care to critically evaluate the information and confirm claims in reputable, peer-reviewed publications.

Carroll County Health Department - Source of general health information for Carroll County, Maryland.

The Collaborative on Health and the Environment - An organization dedicated to distributing information on the environmental influences on human health.

Drugs of Abuse - "Learn the facts about the most commonly abused drugs. Each drug page includes a brief overview, street and clinical names, the effects of the drug on the brain and body, statistics and trends, and relevant publications and articles written by NIDA researchers and scientists."

eMedExpert.com - "...provides up-to-date medical health information for health professionals, patients and their families."

Free Medical Journals - Collection of articles from over 4,000 medical journals. Access to full text varies.

LiveStrong.com - Food, fitness, health, weight loss, lifestyle advice from the Livestrong Foundation. CCC instructor Sharon Brunner is a contributor.

Maryland Family Health Administration - Stated mission is "to protect, promote and improve the health of all Marylanders and their families through community-based public health efforts, giving special attention to at-risk and vulnerable populations.

Mayo Clinic - Health information and research provided by one of the nation's most respected medical facilities.

MentalHealth.gov - "Provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information."

Nutrition.gov - "Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers."

Partnership for a Healthier Carroll County - Connecting agencies and individuals in pursuit of a healthier community.

Physician's Desk Reference - Online version of the world's most commonly used drug sourcebook.

Quackwatch - Dedicated to exposing "health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct."

Science.gov - Searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information.

World Health Organization (WHO) - WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters.

WHO - Pandemic and Epidemic Diseases - WHO's web site dedicated solely to diseases that pose a significant global health threat.

Health statistics

America's Health Rankings - Provides statistical information and state-by-state comparisons on America's health.

DHMH Virtual Data Unit - The Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene's hub for state health data and statistics.

FastStats A-Z - The CDC's quick guide to statistics on health and social welfare issues.

FedStats - Compilation of specialized health reports issued by over 30 government and independent agencies.

Health Services Research Information Central - Selected high-quality articles, compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

HealthStats - The World Bank's statistical repository for world health information, gathered from a variety of international sources.

National Health Expenditure Data - Compilation of reports on health expenses. Categories include historical and projected spending, age and gender estimates, sponsored expenditures.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - The Bureau of Labor Statistics' guide to career prospects in healthcare professions.

World Health Statistics - The World Health Organization's annual health review for member states.

Contact information

Profile Photo
Robert Krzanowski
Contact:
410-386-8337