History 210 Library Activities: General Civil War Resources
General Civil War Resources - Electronic
The following resources will help you find general information about the Civil War. Follow the links to get to the sources.
NOTE - You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus.
Community Resources
The following contacts can help you find additional information about the Civil War in Carroll County and the surrounding areas.
- Boonsborough Museum of History From the Maryland Office of Tourism website. Includes a phone number and directions. Has several physical items from the Civil War on exhibit.
General Civil War Resources - Print
The following sources are a good place to start for general information on U.S. and Civil War History.
Reference Sources:
NOTE - These titles are located on the main floor of Carroll's library and cannot be checked out, though you can photocopy articles.
Atlas of the Civil War - REF G1201 S5 N2 2009
Encyclopedia of American History - REF E174 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a political, social and military history - REF E468 H47 2000
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century - REF E169.1 E626 2001
Historical Dictionary of the Civil War - REF E468 J777 2002
New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture - REF F 209 N47 2012 (includes a volume on history)
Visual and Object Resources
Websites:
- Civil War Trust Nonprofit dedicated to preserving Civil War battlefields. Has extensive photo collection.
- Library of Congress American Memory From Library of Congress, includes photo collections from the Civil War.
Print Resources:
African American faces of the Civil War: an album - E 540 N3 C64 2012
The Civil War and American art - FOLIO N 6510 H37 2012
Discovering the Civil War - FOLIO E 468 D56 2010
Harper's pictorial history of the Civil War - FOLIO E468.7 G94
Smithsonian Civil War: inside the national collection - FOLIO E 467 S65 2013
The untold Civil War: exploring the human side of war - FOLIO E 468 R63 2011
General Civil War Resources - Primary
If you're looking for primary sources, the follow titles should provide you with a start.
NOTE - You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus.
Print Sources:
Reference Sources:
NOTE - These titles are located on the main floor of Carroll's library and cannot be checked out, though you can photocopy articles.
Diaries and Personal Historical Sources (Print and Electronic):
Civil War: The First Year Told by Those Who Lived It - E 464 S56 2011
Don't Hurry Me Down to Hades: The Civil War in the Words of those who Lived through It - E 655 U735 2013
Mary Chestnut's Diary - E 487 C52 2011