Educational Psychology Research Guide: Reference Resources
A guide to resources in educational psychology
Why Start with Reference Sources?
Start researching a topic by reading an article in a general or specialized encyclopedia, also known as reference sources.
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print reference books are located on the main floor of the library.
They are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress system.
Electronic reference sources are available through the catalog under Find Books and under the link for Online Reference Resources below.
- Using Reference Resources: Where to Start Your Research (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Online Reference ResourcesElectronic reference sources purchased by the library and organized by subject
- Using Wikipedia for Academic Research (video)Wikipedia is a reference source because it is an encyclopedia
Gale eBooks
The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas for the Gale eBooks collection.
These ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students. Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access e-books with a computer off-campus.
These books can be identifed by searching the catalog or by searching the Gale platform below:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search the entire library using the search box at the top of the screen, or select a topical area from the menu on the left and search only within that area.
Selected Reference Ebooks
Corsini Encyclopedia of PsychologyISBN: 9780470170250The 4th edition of this standard psychology encyclopedia features articles by over 1,000 scholars on substantive topics and distinguished people in the field.
Psychology of Classroom Learning: an EncyclopediaISBN: 9780028661674Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental HealthISBN: 9781414490151
Encyclopedia of American Disability HistoryISBN: 1438126727
Selected Print Reference Books
The Praeger Handbook of Education and PsychologyCall Number: REF LB1051 P635 2007ISBN: 0313331227
Encyclopedia of Educational PsychologyCall Number: Ref LB 1050.9 E63 2008ISBN: 9781412916882
Handbook of Educational PsychologyCall Number: Ref LB 1051 H2354 2006ISBN: 9780805849370- Encyclopedia of PsychologyCall Number: Ref BF 31 E52
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural PsychologyCall Number: Ref BF 713 E63
- Handbook of Child PsychologyCall Number: Ref BF 721 H242
- Encyclopedia of School PsychologyCall Number: Ref LB 1027.55 E523
- Psycholgists & their Theories for StudentsCall Number: Ref BF 109 A1 P72
- Encyclopedia of CreativityCall Number: Ref BF 408 E53
- Encyclopedia of Human IntelligenceCall Number: Ref BF 431 E59
- Encyclopedia of Human EmotionsCall Number: Ref BF 531 E55
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child DevelopmentCall Number: Ref HQ 767.9 C35
- Maryland School Laws and Regulations AnnotatedCall Number: Ref KFM 1590 A29 M37
- Maryland School Law DeskbookCall Number: Ref KFM 1590 B68
- Encyclopedia of EducationCall Number: Ref LB 15 E47
- Encyclopedia of Education and Human DevelopmentCall Number: Ref LB 15 E473
- Encyclopedia of Educational ResearchCall Number: Ref LB 15 E48
- Encyclopedia of American EducationCall Number: Ref LB 17 U54
- Learning Theories A to ZCall Number: Ref LB 15 L4695
- Praeger Handbook of Learning and the BrainCall Number: Ref LB 1060 P683
- Mental Measurements YearbookCall Number: Ref LB 1131 Z9 B9
- Praeger Handbook of Special EducationCall Number: Ref LB 3957 P73
- Special Education HandbookCall Number: Ref LC 3986 G7 F37
- Encyclopedia of Special EducationCall Number: Ref LC 4007 E53
- Students with Disabilities and Special Education LawCall Number: Ref LC 4031 S875
- Encyclopedia of Learning DisabilitiesCall Number: Ref LC 4704.5 T86
- Textbook of Child and Adolescent PsychiatryCall Number: Ref RJ 499 T47
- Handbook of Child and Adolescent PsychiatryCall Number: Ref RJ 499.3 H356
