Reading Research Guide (Education): Reference Resources
Why Start with Reference Sources?
Start researching a topic by reading an article in a general or specialized encyclopedia, also known as reference sources.
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print reference books are located on the main floor of the library.
They are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress system.
Electronic reference sources are available through the catalog under Find Books and under the link for Online Reference Resources below.
- Using Reference Resources: Where to Start Your Research (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Online Reference ResourcesElectronic reference sources purchased by the library and organized by subject
- Using Wikipedia for Academic Research (video)Wikipedia is a reference source because it is an encyclopedia
Gale eBooks
The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas for the Gale eBooks collection.
These ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students. Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access e-books with a computer off-campus.
These books can be identifed by searching the catalog or by searching the Gale platform below:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search the entire library using the search box at the top of the screen, or select a topical area from the menu on the left and search only within that area.
Selected Print Reference Sources
Literacy in America : an encyclopedia of history, theory, and practiceCall Number: REF LC151 L487ISBN: 1576073580- The reading teacher's book of listsCall Number: REF LB1050.2 F79
Encyclopedia of learning disabilitiesCall Number: Ref LC 4704.5 T86ISBN: 9780816063994- Handbook of research on teaching the English language artsCall Number: REF LB1576 H234
Encyclopedia of education and human developmentCall Number: Ref LB 15 E473ISBN: 0765612682- Early childhood educationCall Number: Ref LB 1139.23 E272
Praeger handbook of learning and the brainCall Number: Ref LB 1060 P683ISBN: 0313332657- Encyclopedia of human intelligenceCall Number: Ref BF 431 E59
- Learning theories A to ZCall Number: Ref LB 15 L4695
- Encyclopedia of school psychologyCall Number: Ref LB 1027.55 E523
- Handbook of educational psychologyCall Number: Ref LB 1051 H2354
