Geoscience: Physics/Physical Science/Geosciences
This guide covers Earth and Space science, Oceanography, Physical Geography, and Meteorology. See also the Research Guide for Physics, Astronomy, and Physical Science.
Nature Archive
Electronic Archive for the journal Nature from 1869 to the present. Subject Category back to 2010 and Article Category back to 2009.
Web Sites
- American Geological Institute. Geoscience Education Homepageprovides information services to geoscientists, serves as a voice of shared interests in our profession, plays a major role in strengthening geoscience education,
- Online Repository of Fossils From University of Michigan's Museum of Paleontology
- Science.gov : Earth & Ocean SciencesFrom FirstGov, a collection of 30 databases from 12 Federal science agencies.
- United States Geological Survey - Resources for Teachersprovides scientific information intended to help educate the public about natural resources, natural hazards, geospatial data, and issues that affect our quality of life. Discover selected online resources, including lessons, data, maps, and more, to support teaching, learning, education (K-12), and university-level inquiry and research.
- USGS Earthquakes Earthquake hazards program at USGS includes information on recent quakes.
- US Geological Survey Photographic LibraryAccess to the USGS Photographic Collection
Streaming Videos
From earthquakes and volcanoes to the creation of sea-floor crusts and shifting river courses, Earth Revealed offers stunning visuals that explain plate tectonics and other geologic concepts and principles. Follow geologists in the field as they explore the primal forces of the Earth; 26 half-hour video programs to watch at your convenience.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides streaming video, both full-length and in segments, on a variety of science topics. You may need your seven digit student ID number to access off-campus