Education Research Guide: Start with Reference Sources
Why Start with Reference Sources?
Start researching a topic by reading an article in a general or specialized encyclopedia, also known as reference sources.
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print reference books are located on the main floor of the library.
They are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress system.
Electronic reference sources are available through the catalog under Find Books and under the link for Online Reference Resources below.
- Using Reference Resources: Where to Start Your Research (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Online Reference ResourcesElectronic reference sources purchased by the library and organized by subject
- Using Wikipedia for Academic Research (video)Wikipedia is a reference source because it is an encyclopedia
Selected Reference Ebooks
Psychology of Classroom Learning: an EncyclopediaISBN: 9780028661674Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and envrionmental factors at work in the classroom.
World Education EncyclopediaISBN: 9780787655778
Encyclopedia of American Disability HistoryISBN: 1438126727
Gale eBooks
The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas for the Gale eBooks collection.
These ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students. Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access e-books with a computer off-campus.
These books can be identifed by searching the catalog or by searching the Gale platform below:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search the entire library using the search box at the top of the screen, or select a topical area from the menu on the left and search only within that area.
Selected Print Reference Books
Search the catalog under Find Books to find additional reference sources or browse the Reference Collection in the call numbers listed below.
Encyclopedia of American EducationCall Number: Ref LB 17 U54 2007ISBN: 0816068879- Students with Disabilities and Special Education LawCall Number: Ref LC 4031 S875
Education today : issues, policies & practicesCall Number: REF LA 210 E38 2018
