Education Research Guide: Educational Issues and Comprehensive Sites

Meeting agendas, policies, documents.

Resources for teachers, students, parents, and administrators.

"Education Issues" site provides comprehensive overviews of a wide variety of education issues.

Includes brief overviews of topics such as: the brain and learning, character education, classroom management, inclusion, multicultural education, assessment, school safety, problem-based learning, and multiple intelligences. The "Explore" link seems to lead mainly to full-text articles from ASCD's publications like Educational Leadership. Other links are to items available for purchase such as packets on a topic.

Award-winning "independent public service" site provides links to Web resources and organizations dealing with general, K-12, and higher education issues.

The NCPA is a "nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization." Education link leads to topics such as school choice, charter schools, minority and women's education, testing, government programs and funding, and federal education policy. Links are then provided to articles on more specific subtopics.

Wide range of issues including NCLB Act, Race to the Top, charter schools, school safety, reading, teacher quality, unions, vouchers, English Language Learners, special education, and lots more.

Trends, issues, hot topics links. Topics include school uniforms and dress codes, class size, safety, school-business relationships, reform, choice/vouchers, law, motivation, and more. Information is pre-2003 from the ERIC database.

Educational issues page includes policy updates, reports, articles on topics such as diversity, special ed., e-learning, choice/charter schools, family involvement, federal issues, teacher quality, etc.

Includes middle schools. Research and Best Practices links includes topics like assessment, block scheduling, cyberbullying, school year and day extension, school start time, four day school week, pay-for-performance, media centers, guidance programs, and more.

Resource Guide broad topics are counseling, management, technology, evaluation, family life, general, librarianship, reference, specific populations, subjects, teaching which lead to links on specific topics. Site also has lesson plan. Search engine available.

All-purpose site covers issues, news, lesson planning, professional development. Links to other sites. K-12. Scroll down to the mini site guide. Some ads.