History 106 Library Activities: Scopes Trial
General Historical Information - Electronic
The following sources are a good place to start for general information on U.S. and World History. Follow the links to get to the sources. You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus.
Scopes Trial - Starting Places
The following resources will help you find information about the history, participants, and controversies surrounding the Scopes Trial. Follow the links to get to the sources. You may need your You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus.
Print:
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought - REF QH 360.2 C36 2013
Evolution in the courtroom : a reference guide - REF KF4208.5 S34 M66 2002
Electronic:
- The Twenties in America (Salem History)Search for "Scopes Trial." This will bring up information on the trial, Clarence Darrow, and William Jennings Bryan.
- Clarence Seward DarrowBiography of famous lawyer who defended Scopes during Trial, from Encyclopedia of World Biography
- William Jennings BryanLawyer and politician, represented the prosecution in the Scopes Trial, from Encyclopedia of World Biography.
- Scopes Monkey TrialFrom the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, basic information about the trial and its effects.
Scopes Trial - Additional Sources
- Famous Trials in American History -Tennessee vs. John ScopesWebsite created by University of Missouri Kansas City Law School faculty member on the trial.
- A Monkey on Tennessee’s Back: The Scopes Trial in DaytonFrom the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- Monkey TrialFrom PBS's American Experience series.
General Historical Information - Print
The following sources are a good place to start for general information on U.S. and World History. These titles are located on the main floor of Carroll's library and cannot be checked out, though you can photocopy articles.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History - REF D23 B45 2005
Encyclopedia of American History - REF E174 E53 2003
Primary Sources - General
If you're looking for primary sources, the follow links should provide you with a start.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new windowCovers the period of 1837-1988. You can also narrow your search to a date range and keyword to find articles on a particular topic or period.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new windowCovers 1851-2010. You can also narrow your search to a date range and keyword to find articles written on a particular topic or period.
Scopes Trial - In-depth Sources
To find books on the Scopes Trial in the library's online catalog, try the following subject searches:
- Fundamentalism: What Role did the Fundamentalists Play in American Society of the 1920s?From the series "History in Dispute," covers viewpoints on influence of Fundamentalist churches on society, education, etc. at the time of the Scopes Trial.
- Trial and error : the American controversy over creation and evolutionProvides an historical overview on the legal debates over teaching evolution both pre- and post-Scopes.
Subject Guide
1601 Washington Rd.
Westminster, MD 21157
Office: L094
Phone: (410) 386-8335