History 106 Library Activities: Japanese Internment
General Historical Information - Electronic
The following sources are a good place to start for general information on U.S. and World History. Follow the links to get to the sources. You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus..
Japanese Internment - Starting Places
The following resources will help you find information about the history, participants, and controversies surrounding the Japanese Internment. Print sources will either be located on the main level (Reference) or lower level (these can be checked out). Follow the links to get to the electronic sources. You may need your You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus..
Print:
Encyclopedia of Japanese American internment - REF D 769.8 A6 B43 2014
Japanese-American internment during World War II - REF D 769.8 A6 B43 2014
Electronic:
- America at War: The Internment of Japanese AmericansFrom the "American Decades," collection
- Japanese American InternmentFrom the Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States, a look at the Japanese Internment from a legal perspective.
- Japanese American Internment and RelocationFrom the "Encyclopedia of Race and Racism."
Japanese Interment - Disputes
Legal, political, and social debates about the Japanese Internment.
Japanese Internment - Additional Sources
The following links provide additional information on the Japanese Internment.
- Children of the CampsDocumentary from PBS.
- Japanese Relocation and Internment During World War IIFrom the National Archives, includes primary documents and photos.
- Manzanar National Historic SiteOne of the internment camps preserved by the National Park Service, includes historical information, exhibits, oral histories.
Japanese Internment - Primary Sources
Many survivors of the internment camps have written memoirs and autobiographical novels. Some of these can be accessed below.
Print Sources:
Farewell to Manzanar : a true story of Japanese American experience during and after the World War II internment - E 184 J3 H63
Nisei Daughter - F 899 S49 J376 1979
Electronic Sources:
- I call to remembrance Toyo Suyemoto's years of internmentMemoirs of Topaz internee Toyo Suyemoto.
General Historical Information - Print
The following sources are a good place to start for general information on U.S. and World History. These titles are located on the main floor of Carroll's library and cannot be checked out, though you can photocopy articles.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History - REF D23 B45 2005
Encyclopedia of American History - REF E174 E53 2003
Primary Sources - General
If you're looking for primary sources, the follow links should provide you with a start.
Print:
Electronic:
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new windowCovers the period of 1837-1988. You can also narrow your search to a date range and keyword to find articles on a particular topic or period.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new windowCovers 1851-2010. You can also narrow your search to a date range and keyword to find articles written on a particular topic or period.
Japanese Internment - In-depth Sources
To find books on the Japanese Internment in the library's online catalog, try the following subject searches:
A tragedy of democracy : Japanese confinement in North America - D 769.8 A6 R64 2009
Whispered silences : Japanese Americans and World War II - D 769.8 A6 O36 1996
Subject Guide
1601 Washington Rd.
Westminster, MD 21157
Office: L094
Phone: (410) 386-8335