This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Faculty Information Guide: Humanities

Resources for English, Language, and History Instructors

All Humanities

EDSITEment
"EDSITEment offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies." It includes lesson plans that are searchable by grade level, subject, and sub-categories within those subjects.

"All websites . . . have been reviewed for content, design, and educational impact in the classroom. They cover a wide range of humanities subjects, from American history to literature, world history and culture, language, art, and archaeology, and have been judged by humanities specialists to be of high intellectual quality . . ."

History & Political Science

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: For Teachers and Students
Includes modules on major topics, exercises, primary documents, recommended resources, and professional development.

The History Engine
"An educational tool that gives students the opportunity to learn history by doing the work—researching, writing, and publishing—of an historian."

Annenberg Classroom: Civics Resources
"An innovative, issue-based approach for engaging high school students in informed political discourse. The web site uses audio from the Justice Talking radio show and articles from The New York Times to teach students about reasoned debate and the often-conflicting values inherent in our democracy."

Using Primary Sources (Library of Congress)
"Designed to help educators use the American Memory Collections to teach history and culture. It offers tips and tricks, definitions and rationale for using primary sources, activities, discussions, lesson plans and suggestions for using the collections in classroom curriculum."

Teaching History with Technology
Includes resources for history and social studies lesson plans, activities, games and quizzes that incorporate technology plus inquiry-based lessons, activities, and projects. Also includes examples for United States History and World History courses and information on how to integrate new and emerging technologies into the classroom.

Languages

International Children's Digital Library
A digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world--all languages will be represented at some point