Faculty Information Guide
Guide to Assessment at Carroll
- Assessment Resources RoadmapThis guide explains assessment processes and activities at Carroll, and includes information on program, course, and General Education assessment; classroom assessment techniques, and creating culturally inclusive assessments.
Assessment Journals
Applied Measurement in Education (18 month full-text delay) - "The prime objective is to improve communication between academicians and practitioners. Its articles describe original research studies, strategies for solving educational measurement problems, and integrative reviews of current approaches."
Assessment Update - "Covers the developments in higher education assessment. Gives information & advice on conducting assessments, including student learning & outcomes, faculty instruction, academic programs, student services, & overall institutional functioning."
Educational Assessment (18 month full-text delay) - "Publishes research and scholarship on the assessment of individuals, groups and programs in educational settings. Reports on studies of conventional testing practices, alternative approaches, scholarship on classroom practice, and national assessment."
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and Accountability (1 year full-text delay) - "The journal provides readers with an understanding of the rich contextual nature of evaluation, assessment and accountability in education. The journal is theory-oriented and methodology-based and seeks to connect research, policy making and practice."
International Journal of Testing - "Focuses on theory, research, and practice in testing and assessment in psychology, education, counseling, human resource management, and related disciplines."
Journal of Assessment in Higher Education - "The Journal of Assessment in Higher Education is an open-access, semi-annual publication that presents articles on current philosophy, research, teaching, learning and scholarship in higher education assessment."
Practical Assessment, Research & Evaluation (01/01/2006 - 12/01/2018 only) - "Manuscripts published in PARE are scholarly syntheses of research and ideas about methodological issues and practices."
Research & Practice in Assessment - "All manuscripts submitted to Research & Practice in Assessment should be related to various higher education assessment themes, and adopt either an assessment measurement or an assessment policy/foundations framework."
CTL Print Series
New Directions for Community Colleges (CTL LB 2328 N48) - "As a quarterly journal with over a 40-year publication history, New Directions for Community Colleges offers practical recommendations on current trends in the field of community college education."
New Directions for Higher Education (CTL LB 2341 N48) - "Addressed to presidents, vice presidents, deans, and other higher education decision-makers on all types of campuses, New Directions for Higher Education provides timely information and authoritative advice about major problems and administrative issues confronting every institution."
New Directions for Teaching & Learning (CTL LB 1025.2 N48) - "The series has four goals: to inform readers about current and future directions in teaching and learning in postsecondary education, to illuminate the context that shapes these new directions, to illustrate these new directions through examples from real settings, and to propose ways in which these new directions can be incorporated into still other settings"
Print books
To find more print or ebooks about assessment, try searching the library catalog using the following keywords: assessment and higher education, assessment and college, assessment and community colleges
Introduction to rubrics : an assessment tool to save grading time, convey effective feedback, and promote student learningCall Number: CTL LB 3063 S74 2005Research shows that rubrics save professors' time while conveying meaningful and timely feedback for students, and promoting self-regulated and independent learning. This book defines what rubrics are, and how to construct and use them. It provides an introduction for those starting out to integrate rubrics in their teaching.
Designing effective assessment : principles and profiles of good practiceCall Number: CTL LB 2366.2 B36 2009Trudy Banta, Elizabeth Jones, and Karen Black offer 49 detailed current examples of good practice in planning, implementing, and sustaining assessment that are practical and ready to apply in new settings. This important resource can help educators put in place an effective process for determining what works and which improvements will have the most impact in improving curriculum, methods of instruction, and student services on college and university campuses.
We have a rubric for that : the VALUE approach to assessmentCall Number: CTL LB 2361 M33 2019The newest publication in a series of reports on the AAC&U Valid Assessment of Learning in Undergraduate Education (VALUE) Initiative--"We Have a Rubric for That: The VALUE Approach to Assessment"--compiles ten years of evidence to provide an argument-based framework for the assessment of student learning in higher education using the VALUE rubrics. This publication presents a wide range of sources to provide timely evidence of the power of the VALUE approach to assessment. - AAC&U website
Assessing and improving your teaching : Strategies and rubrics for faculty growth and student learningCall Number: LB 1025.3 B595 2013""Don't wait for someone else to tell you what you need to do to make your teaching more effective--figure it out for yourself and invigorate your teaching on your own terms. This practical evidence-based guide promotes excellence in teaching and improved student learning through self-reflection and self-assessment of one's teaching..."--Book description
Ebooks
Faculty should consider browsing ProQuest Ebook Central and the library's other eBook collections for more information about assessment.
Assessing student learning : a common sense guide"Now in its third edition, Assessing Student Learning continues to offer college faculty and administrators an accessible and authoritative guide for assessing student learning in a variety of higher education settings. Linda Suskie—an internationally recognized expert—presents a wealth of well-informed principles as well as flexible, adaptable options. This book is a time-tested, straightforward guide filled with practical advice that can help meet ever-increasing needs for ensuring and demonstrating educational quality, stewardship, and accountability." -Book description
Assessment essentials : planning, implementing, and improving assessment in higher educationCall Number: CTL LB 2366.2 P35 2015"This second edition of Assessment Essentials updates the bestselling first edition, the go-to resource on outcomes assessment in higher education. In this thoroughly revised edition, you will find, in a familiar framework, nearly all new material, examples from more than 100 campuses, and indispensable descriptions of direct and indirect assessment methods that have helped to educate faculty, staff, and students about assessment."--Book description
Trends in assessment : ideas, opportunities, and issues for higher educationTrends in Assessment provides readers with a survey of the state-of-the-art of the enduring assessment concepts and approaches developed over the past twenty-five years, and includes chapters by acknowledged experts who describe how emerging assessment trends and ideas apply to their programs and pedagogies..."--Book description
Learning assessment techniques : a handbook for college faculty" Learning Assessment Techniques provides 50 easy-to-implement active learning techniques that gauge student learning across academic disciplines and learning environments. Using Fink's Taxonomy of Significant Learning as its organizational framework, it embeds assessment within active learning activities..."--Book description
Web Resources
Assessment that Matters: Trending Toward Practices that Document Authentic Student Learning - "...the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA) conducted its third nationwide survey of provosts...This report summarizes the major findings and presents implications for policy and practice."
Creating Practical and Meaningful Course-Level Assessment of Student Learning - RIT's guide to creating effective student assessments, authored by the Office of Educational Effectiveness Assessment.
Degree Qualifications Profile - "The Degree Qualifications Profile (DQP) is a learning-centered framework for what college graduates should know and be able to do to earn an associate, bachelor’s or master’s degree."
The LEAP Challenge - "The LEAP Challenge is to make Signature Work a goal for all students—and the expected standard of quality learning in college."
National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment - "The National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA), established in 2008, is a research and resource-development organization, dedicated to documenting, advocating, and facilitating the systematic use of learning outcomes assessment to improve student learning."
Equity in Assessment - NILOA's collection of DEI-related research, resources, and case studies.
Transparency in Learning and Teaching (TILT) Higher Ed Examples And Resources - "The following resources from the Transparency in Learning and Teaching project (TILT Higher Ed) can help faculty, educational developers and administrators to apply the Transparency Framework (of purpose/task/criteria) in contexts including assignments, curricula, assessment and strategic initiatives..."