Copy of Business and Accounting Research Guide: BUAD 205 - Titus

Start here

A login is required for off-campus access.

Search tips

• Most of the library's databases are not completely full text, so please check the box to limit to full text if the database provides one. Generally speaking, if there is no full text checkbox, then the database contains all full text sources (ex. Gale eBooks, Salem Online).
   
• Search with keywords, not sentences:
  • Full sentence: What can be done to put a monetary limit on civil lawsuits?
  • Major concepts: "tort reform" and damages; "tort reform" and cap*
  • Tip: When using "basic search" put an and between terms. You can also switch from "basic search" to "advanced search" in any database to search more than one term at once by filling in the search boxes. If you need to limit your search to a particular date range, then use the "advanced search."
  • Be flexible about search terms. Think of synonyms and related terms you can try if your initial search strategy doesn't produce the results you want. You may need to use different terms for different databases.
     
• The types of sources you find will depend on the databases you search:
  • For background information on topics, Gale eBooks and Salem Online are great places to search.
  • For articles from specialized business journals and magazines, try Business Source Premier. 
  • For articles written for a general audience, check out ProQuest Newspapers.
     

APA style

• Many of the databases will show a suggested APA citation. It's fine to start with these citations, but it is your responsibility to check them for accuracy and make corrections based on the library's APA handouts, the Pocket Style Manual, etc. Click on the Citing Sources tab at the top of this guide for access to APA handouts, tutorials, and more. Make sure you are using the library's updated handouts for APA 7th Edition.
   
• OWL at Purdue - Citing Legal References -- APA style defers to Bluebook style for legal materials (laws, cases, etc.) and uses those templates/patterns in the References list.

Tip: Research is a trial and error process, and librarians are happy to help you brainstorm or find articles! Chat with us during library hours, or Email anytime.

Use the online catalog to conduct a keyword search to find additional sources for the Written Assignment. Be sure to note:

• the collection of the item (Books, Reference, etc.)
• the item's call number
• whether the item is available or has been checked out
• if the item is an e-book or streaming video, use the embedded link to access it