Women's Health Project

In the online catalog, you can find information about the library's books, ebooks, streaming videos, and audiovisual materials (but not journal articles! See the "Find Articles" tab for more information about those sources). Please keep these hints in mind when searching the catalog:

-The catalog does not perform full-text searches, so try to stick with a few broad keywords

-You can search the holdings for Carroll County Public Library and Hoover Library (McDaniel College) by changing the "Limit By" drop-down menu on the search page from "Carroll Community College Titles Only" to "All Formats."

-Use the "Type of Material" limiter on the left-hand side of the search results screen to narrow down to a particular type of resource (e.g. eBook, DVD).

-You can access streaming videos and eBooks by clicking on the link to the right of "CLICK LINK" within a catalog entry. See this screenshot of an ebook link for an example. You will need to enter your college e-mail address and password to access the content.

-When searching for print titles, be sure to click on the Availability link to see the item's status (Checked In, Checked Out, On Hold, etc...).

-Be mindful of your instructor's 7-year date limit, as results sort by Relevance. Use the "Sort" drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the search results page and change to "Publication Date" to have the most recent results appear at the top.

Gale eBooks is a collection of dozens of electronic encyclopedias and features many articles on women's health topics. This is a great resource to establish basic background information about your topic, such as demographics, treatments, and statistics. Click on the link below and type your keyword into the "Basic Search" field. Gale will then return articles sorted by relevance. A keyword search for "breast cancer" immediately returns helpful results from The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, and Human Diseases and Conditions.

ProQuest Ebook Central houses over 240,000 eBooks, including thousands of health-related titles. Unlike Gale eBooks, ProQuest contains "scholarly" books you would encounter while browsing the library stacks. You can perform a general keyword search using the "Search ebooks" box at the top of the page. See the search results for the keyword search "women's health" to understand the scope of ProQuest Ebook Central's coverage.