Biology Research Guide: Current Events

Choose a current event or news story that demonstrates the impact of science on any aspect of our lives (health, natural world, technology, etc.)

Write a one page report and be prepared to present in class.

Write up should include:

1. a summary of the news event or story
2. the source of the information
3. background research
4. an explanation of how the story demonstrates the impact of science on our lives
5. your opinions

The information should be relevant and accurate

Research should be thorough, detailed, & accurate and go beyond what was presented in class or in the text.

You can use our Full Text Electronic Journal List to find articles in current issues of scientific periodicals.

• Click on the link for this portal below and search the title after choosing "title contains all words" from the drop down menu.
• Click on the title of any database that contains the full text of that publication and then click on the link for a specific issue by date.
• A list of full text articles for that date will appear.
• If the articles are not full text, select an earlier date.

Suggested scientific periodicals (in alphabetical order):

• Discover
• New Scientist
• Scientific American

For off-campus access you may need your full Carroll CC email address and password when you click on the link.

Unless you already have an idea about a topic, it can be a challenge to search a newspaper database for articles about science.

Your librarian recommends that you browse current science journals by accessing them through the Full Text Electronic Journal Portal.  See the box below on the left.

One of the best resources both for choosing a current topic in science and  for finding background information would be the Opposing Viewpoints database.  The database provides magazine & newspaper articles and much more.  The entry page includes a list of major topics of the day, many of which are science topics.  Every topic listed includes link for reference sources or background information.  It is also searchable.

CQ Researcher would be another good resources.  Browse by topic to choose a topic & find issues of this weekly publication that have been written on your topic.

You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus..

See other useful databases in various topical areas (health, etc.) under the Find Articles tab above.

The best place to find background information is in reference sources.  This is their primary function.

Reference sources are available in the Opposing Viewpoints database and in ebook format.

The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas for the Gale eBooks collection.

These ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students.  Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access e-books with a computer off-campus.

These books can be identifed by searching the catalog or by searching the Gale platform below: