Library: Nursing Research Guide: Find Articles

Scholarly research

Before proceeding with any assignment, please determine if it requires scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. Please carefully evaluate articles before using them as part of your research. If you have any questions, please consult a librarian or your instructor. You are most likely to find scholarly health articles in:

Academic Search Premier

ProQuest Health/Nursing

Health Source: Nursing/Academic

Please use limiters such as the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals and Full Text boxes found on Academic Search Premier and Health Source: Nursing/Academic.

Electronic Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Nearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information for quick reference at the point-of-care, nursing skills, best practices, and more.
ProQuest Biological Science This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
ProQuest Consumer Health This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, such as sports injuries and women's health.

Magazines vs. Journals

They're not all magazines!

Your instructor might require you to find journal articles, not magazine articles. Use the attachment to understand the difference between journals and magazines.