This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Research Guide: Websites

Government web sites

The web sites listed below offer high-quality content written by subject experts. It is highly recommended that you start here when attempting to find resources through a web site.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Comprehensive resource covering all topics related to diseases, such as statistics and current outbreaks.

Hazardous Substances Database - Information on potentially poisonous substances.

LactMed - Database of drug information for pregnant mothers. Includes adverse effects and suggestions for more appropriate treatments.

MedLinePlus - The government's main resource for distributing health information.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Information on nursing as a career. Includes salary and job outlook.

Pillbox - Identify pills using criteria such as imprint, shape, color and size.

PubMed - Abstracts and full-text for over 26 million books, articles, and journals in the biomedical fields.

Free health web sites

The following web sites provide free access to medical information. These are generally NOT scholarly resources and should not be cited as such. Additionally, students should take care to critically evaluate the information and confirm claims in reputable, peer-reviewed publications.

Carroll County Health Department - Source of general health information for Carroll County, Maryland.

The Collaborative on Health and the Environment - An organization dedicated to distributing information on the environmental influences on human health.

Drugs of Abuse - "Learn the facts about the most commonly abused drugs. Each drug page includes a brief overview, street and clinical names, the effects of the drug on the brain and body, statistics and trends, and relevant publications and articles written by NIDA researchers and scientists."

eMedExpert.com - "...provides up-to-date medical health information for health professionals, patients and their families."

Free Medical Journals - Collection of articles from over 4,000 medical journals. Access to full text varies.

LiveStrong.com - Food, fitness, health, weight loss, lifestyle advice from the Livestrong Foundation. CCC instructor Sharon Brunner is a contributor.

Maryland Family Health Administration - Stated mission is "to protect, promote and improve the health of all Marylanders and their families through community-based public health efforts, giving special attention to at-risk and vulnerable populations.

Mayo Clinic - Health information and research provided by one of the nation's most respected medical facilities.

MentalHealth.gov - "Provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information."

Nutrition.gov - "Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers."

Partnership for a Healthier Carroll County - Connecting agencies and individuals in pursuit of a healthier community.

Physician's Desk Reference - Online version of the world's most commonly used drug sourcebook.

Quackwatch - Dedicated to exposing "health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct."

Science.gov - Searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information.

World Health Organization (WHO) - WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters.

WHO - Pandemic and Epidemic Diseases - WHO's web site dedicated solely to diseases that pose a significant global health threat.

Nursing web sites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-based Practice Centers - Evidence reports on a broad range of clinical topics.

Carroll Community College Nursing Programs - Information on CCC's nursing degree and certificate programs.

Health Resources and Services Administration - Nursing - Nursing career information, including scholarships and funding opportunities.

Johnson & Johnson Discover Nursing - Dedicated to disseminating information about nursing and healthcare.

Maryland Board of Nursing - "The mission of the Board of Nursing is to advance safe quality care in Maryland through licensure, certification, education and accountability for public protection."

Nurse.com - Comprehensive source of nursing news, educational and career opportunities, and professional awards.

Maryland Nurse Practice Act

The Maryland Nurse Practice Act details the scope of responsibilities for all licensed nurses. To access the free full text, open the hyperlink, click on Health Occupations, then expand Title 8. Nurses.

Contact information

Profile Photo
Robert Krzanowski
Contact:
410-386-8337