This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Research Guide: Evidence-based nursing

Finding scholarly research articles

This document is a guide to finding appropriate articles for research assignments using CCC databases.

Databases

The databases listed below are particularly well-suited to finding articles on evidence-based practices.

Web sites

Academic Center for Evidence-Based Practice - UT Health Science Center at San Antonio's guide to evidence-based practice, including current studies and trials.

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses - AMSN's introduction to EBN, including modules, web sites, and print resources.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-based Practice Centers - Evidence reports on a broad range of clinical topics.

Introduction to evidence-based practice - Duke University's basic tutorial on EBP. Approximately 1 hour to complete.

Patient safety and quality: an evidence-based handbook for nurses - 1,400 page manual discussing proven techniques and interventions for nurses.

The PICO Principle - Brief tutorial about the PICO method created by Oxford University.

PubMed - "PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."

Trip Database - Clinical search engine providing access to high-quality research to support medical practices.

Articles

Listed below is a small sample of articles discussing evidence-based nursing that may be found in Carroll Community College's electronic databases.

Chapa, D., Hartung, M., Mayberry, L. J., & Pintz, C. (2013). Using preappraised evidence sources to guide practice decisions. Journal Of The American Association Of Nurse Practitioners, 25(5), 234-243. doi:10.1111/j.1745-7599.2012.00787.x

De Pedro-Gómez, J., Morales-Asencio, J., Bennasar-Veny, M., Artigues-Vives, G., Perelló-Campaner, C., & Gómez-Picard, P. (2012). Determining factors in evidence-based clinical practice among hospital and primary care nursing staff. Journal Of Advanced Nursing, 68(2), 452-459. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2648.2011.05733.x

Hastings, C., & Fisher, C.A. (2014). Searching for proof: creating and using an actionable PICO question. Nursing Management, 45(8), 9-12. doi: 10.1097/01.NUMA.0000452006.79838.67

Irwin, M. M., Bergman, R. M., & Richards, R. (2013). The Experience of implementing evidence-based practice change: A qualitative analysis. Clinical Journal Of Oncology Nursing, 17(5), 544-549. doi:10.1188/13.CJON.544-549

Jeffs, L., Sidani, S., Rose, D., Espin, S., Smith, O., Martin, K., & ... Ferris, E. (2013). Using theory and evidence to drive measurement of patient, nurse and organizational outcomes of professional nursing practice. International Journal Of Nursing Practice, 19(2), 141-148. doi:10.1111/ijn.12048

Linton, M., & Prasun, M. A. (2013). Evidence-based practice: collaboration between education and nursing management. Journal Of Nursing Management, 21(1), 5-16. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2834.2012.01440.x

Mick, J. (2014). Nurse interns' experience with participation in evidence-based practice project requirement of a nursing internship program. Nurse Educator, 39(2), 54-55. doi: 10.1097/NNE.0000000000000017

Wuchner, Staci S. (2014). Integrative review of implementation strategies for translation of research-based evidence by nurses. Clinical Nurse Specialist, 28(4), 214-223. doi: 10.1097/NUR.0000000000000055

Contact information

Profile Photo
Robert Krzanowski
Contact:
410-386-8337

Books