Health/Fitness Research Guide: Find Articles
Scholarly databases
The databases below contain scholarly/peer-reviewed articles and should be used for assignments requiring those sources. Please note that not ALL resources within these databases are scholarly, so be sure to use limiters or contact a librarian or your instructor with questions.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
- Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowOver 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowMultiformat database featuring scholarly full-text articles in nursing, physical therapy, and other health fields.
- ProQuest Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Database Search Tips
- Database Search TipsUse this tips sheet to improve your searching results in our online periodical databases.
Open this Tips Sheet to improve your searching results in our online periodical databases.
Popular databases
These databases DO NOT contain scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, and should only be used with assignments allowing newspapers, magazines, and other popular periodicals as sources.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowNearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines.
- ProQuest Consumer Health This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, such as sports injuries and women's health.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides evidence-based information for quick reference at the point-of-care, nursing skills, best practices, and more.
Print Periodicals
ACSM's Health and Fitness Journal
Bicycling
Exercise and Sport Sciences Review
Health
Runner's World
Yoga Journal
Magazines vs. Journals
Your instructor might require you to find journal articles, not magazine articles. Use the attachment to understand the difference between journals and magazines.