English 102 (Writing About Literature) Research Guide: Doubt
Doubt
Online Catalog
Search the online catalog to find books, e-books, and other sources for the project. To access e-books, click on the link that says Online access. Your 7-digit College ID number is needed for remote access to e-books.
Be willing to try a variety of search terms to find appropriate sources. Some suggestions:
- Catholic Church history
- Catholic Church - customs and practices
- Vatican II
- Vatican Council 2nd
- civil rights movements - United States
- racism - United States - history
- United States - race relations
- feminism - United States - history - 20th century
- women's rights - United States - history - 20th century
- child sexual abuse by clergy
- sexual misconduct by clergy
Catholic Church in the 1960s
Use a combination of sources dealing with the 1960s and sources dealing with religion. Suggested print reference sources are listed first followed by e-books and databases, and other sources. Use the catalog to find additional books.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Ref BL 31 E46
Encyclopedia of the Sixties
Ref E 169.12 E515
The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism
Ref BX841 H37
- American Decades (20th Century)After your initial search, go to the box on the right-hand side of the screen and click on 1960s (you may need to click View More).
- The Nature and Scope of Sexual Abuse of Minors by Catholic Priests and Deacons in the United States 1950-2002Research study conducted by the John Jay College of Criminal Justice, The City University of New York. Note--The document opens as a large PDF.
In MLA, cite as an ebook on a website. The hosting site is www.usccb.org.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA periodical database. In order to find articles relating to the time period and the changes it brought about try searching on "Vatican II," "pre-Vatican II," and "Vatican Council."
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowFull text of historical encyclopedias and non-fiction books and leading history periodicals--includes historical documents, photos, maps, film, and video
Women in 1960's America
- American Decades (20th Century)After your initial search, go to the box on the right-hand side of the screen and click on 1960s (you may need to click View More).
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
Civil Rights / Race Relations in the 1960s
Use a combination of sources dealing with the 1960s and sources dealing with civil rights / racial issues. Suggested print reference sources are listed first followed by e-books and databases. Use the catalog to find additional books.
The Civil Rights Movement
Ref E 185.61 C6124
Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties
Ref KF 4747.5 E53
Encyclopedia of the Sixties
E 169.12 E515
- American Decades (20th Century)After your initial search, go to the box on the right-hand side of the screen and click on 1960s (you may need to click View More).
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA periodical database. Try searching on "race relations" or "civil rights movements" as a subject and pairing it with 1960s as a keyword search term.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowFull text of historical encyclopedias and non-fiction books and leading history periodicals--includes historical documents, photos, maps, film, and video
Literature Criticism of the Play / Movie Reviews
The library has resources to help you find reviews of the movie and litertaure criticism of the play. Keep in mind, however, that the amount of literature criticism available will be limited because Doubt was written just a few years ago. The currency of the play also means that the library's catalog will not be a good resource for this project. Instead, explore the resources listed below:
- Drama for StudentsAn excellent online reference source. Doubt is included twice in this database - the entry from 2006 is for the play and the entry from 2011 is for the movie.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowDatabase including literature criticism, reviews, biographies, and author interviews.
- Cathedrals of Bone: the Role of the Body in Contemporary Catholic LiteratureFrom the ebrary collection. Includes an entry on Doubt. beginning on p. 126.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA periodical database useful for finding movie reviews. In the Advanced Search limit document type to "entertainment review."
- IMDb - Internet Movie DatabaseNot a library resource, but a good site to find movie reviews. Be sure to use the reviews listed under Metacritic, which will lead you to more recognizable sources.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowYou will find reviews for various productions of the play as well as the movie version. The database includes the New York Times, Washington Post, Baltimore Sun, and other newspapers. Try searching for "John Patrick Shanley" AND doubt. You can also limit to Reviews under Document Type (in Advanced search or from left-hand column in your search results.)