Graphic Arts Research Guide: CGR 115 - Socially Responsible Design
Design Brief Resources--Books and Ebooks
When doing research for your design brief, remember to look at items regarding nonprofit organization management and marketing. Some of the books I've listed or linked to below have chapters on how these organizations set up their budgets, reach out to the community, market themselves, and determine who their competition is and why their organization stands out from similar groups--all information you'll need to know when writing your brief.
If you do a subject search in the library's online catalog using the terms listed below, you should find additional relevant titles.
- Advertising
- Branding (Marketing)
- Nonprofit Organizations
- Nonprofit Organizations--Management
- Nonprofit Organizations--Marketing
Print Books:
AIGA professional practices in graphic design: NC 1001.6 A44 2008
Your ad here: the cool sell of guerilla marketing: HF 5415 S373 2013
Ebooks:
Click on the links below to get to these titles. You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus.
- Mission-based marketing positioning your not-for-profit in an increasingly competitive world Ebook on marketing for non-profits, includes a chapter called "Who are your competitors?" which gives advice on learning about organizations addressing issues similar to yours.
Other Non-Profit Research:
- Charity Navigator Site that evaluates charities, provides spending, service, and tax information
- Guidestar Provides information on specific non-profits. NOTE - Not all information is freely available.
Social Issues Research/For-Profit Research
Use the following resources to find information about social issues. You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus.
Social Issues:
- CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues Basic information on social issues of all sorts. Great starting place if you're trying to decide on a topic or get an overview of your issue.
Business and For-Profit Information:
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, company and industry profiles.
- Hoover's Business Profiles This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- CEO Express Website links to various organizations and services providing business news and data. NOTE - Not all information freely available.
Design Brief Resources--Demographic Information
The following print and electronic sources will lead you to information about Carroll County, Westminster, and Maryland demographical information to assist you in determing which population(s) your promotional campaigns will target.
Print materials:
NOTE- items with the words REF in front of the call number are located on the main floor of the library and cannot be checked out--though they can be photocopied/consulted. All other items can be checked out, if available, and are located on the lower level of the library
County and city extra : special decennial census edition - REF HA 203 C68 2012
State and metropolitan area data book : 2010 : [a statistical abstract supplement] - REF HA 202 S84 2010
Statistical Abstract of the United States: 2010: REF HA 202 2010
Statistical databases:
Statistical websites:
- American FactFinderWeb tool for finding data about the U.S. derived from several censuses and surveys.
- Carroll County Department of Economic Development Lots of statistics relative to Carroll County as a whole and specific communities within the county.
- FedStats Statistics from the federal government organized by topic, geography, and agency
- Pew Social Trends "Pew Research Center . . . studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans" relating to family, community, health, finance, work and leisure--combines "original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis"
Directories of Organizations and Associations
The following links provide you with contact information for local, regional, and national nonprofit organizations. You may wish to visit their websites to see real-life examples of mission statements, graphic designs, and how these organizations distinguish themselves. You might also contact these organizations directly if you have any questions.
History of Design and Social Change - Tips and Resources by Topic
In addition to the sources below, be sure to check out some of the history of design books in the column to your right. Your topic may consist of a chapter in the book, or a section within the chapter. You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus.
Print Books:
Safety First: Vintage Posters from RoSPA's Archives - HF 5837 R46 2015
Articles and Web Links:
- Tom Eckersley at Archives Hub Tom Eckersley is one of the most notable RoSPA poster artists.
- Safety is their concernArticle on RoSPA.
Print Books:
Art and the Second World War - N 9160 B64 2013
Propaganda: The Art of Persuasion in World War II - FOLIO D 810 P6 R48 1993
War Posters: Weapons of Mass Communication - FOLIO D522.25 A94 2007
Web Links:
- Propaganda Posters Collection From Washington State University, a whole searchable collection of examples of propaganda posters from WWI and WWII.
Print Books:
Art and the Second World War - N 9160 B64 2013
Our Mothers' War: American Women at Home and at the Front during World War II - D 810 W7 Y45 2004
Propaganda: The Art of Persuasion in World War II - FOLIO D 810 P6 R48 1993
War Posters: Weapons of Mass Communication - FOLIO D522.25 A94 2007
World War II propaganda : analyzing the art of persuasion during wartime: D 810 P6 W45 2017
Ebooks:
- All-Out for Victory! : Magazine Advertising and the World War II Home FrontIncludes a whole chapter on women in war work
- Web Links:
- Branding PreventionArticle on history of Smokey Bear as a mascot for forest fire and wildfire prevention.
Print Books:
Cold War on the Home Front: The Soft Power of Midcentury Design - HF 1040.8 C37 2010
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present - HM 1231 C85 2003
Selling the American Way: US Propaganda and the Cold War - E 814 B45 2008
War Posters: Weapons of Mass Communication - FOLIO D 522.25 A94 2007
Ebooks:
Print Books:
Power to the People: The Graphic Design of the Radical Press and the Rise of the Counter-culture - FOLIO Z 1033 U58 P69 2013
Ebooks:
- Alternative Press From the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
- Earth Day From the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, basic information about Earth Day.
- The History of Earth Day From the Earth Day Network website.
Print Books:
Art and Electronic Media - FOLIO N 7433.8 A78 2009 (NOTE: Has chapter on culture jamming).
Your ad here: the cool sell of guerilla marketing: HF 5415 S373 2013
Web Links:
- Adbusters: Journal of the Mental Environment Link to the publication itself.
- Culture Jamming Description and history of Culture Jamming from the University of Washington's Center for Communication and Civic Engagement--lots of cool links!
Print Books:
Visual Strategies Against AIDS: International AIDS Prevention Posters - NC 1849 H95 V57 2002
Articles and Web Links:
- Artists’ Caucus of Visual AIDS Brief information on group responsible for famous AIDS awareness designs (red ribbon), from Oxford Art Online.
Articles and Web Links:
- Click It or Ticket CampaignLink to an article about a campaign for safety belt use from a few years ago.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)Section of the NHTSA website dealing specifically with seat belt use/current campaigns.
- Seat Belts (Opposing Viewpoints)Links to data, reports, and viewpoints on seat belt use--good for background information
- Design Against Crime Website for the organization.
- The Haute Design Approach To Foiling Urban Thieves New York Times article dealing with "Design Against Crime."
Print Books:
Accessible America: A History of Disability and Design - HV 1553 W55 2019
Black, Brown + Latinx Design Educators : Conversations on Design and Race: NX 650 R34 W35 2021
Extra Bold : A Feminist, Inclusive, Anti-racist, Non-binary Field Guide for Graphic Designers - NK 1520 E98 2021
Ebooks:
Designing Disability: Symbols, Space, and Society
Articles and Web Links:
- Art by any other NameOn Native Americans in graphic arts
- Diplomatic Design Article on how the graphic design unit in the United Nations have to consider other cultures/nations when working on projects.
Print Books:
Street art : famous artists talk about their vision - FOLIO GT 3912 M38 2017
Articles and Web Links:
- Fairey, Shephard Entry from "American Decades, 2000-2009."
- Shepard Fairey, Citizen Artist From Progressive Magazine
- Shepard Fairey Fights for Hope Article from Rolling Stone magazine.
Print Books:
Drawing Blood: A Memoir - NC 975.5 C66 A2 2015
Ebooks:
Articles and Web Links:
- Art and the 99% From Art in America.
- #Occupy Art From Art Monthly magazine.
Civil Rights 1940-1960
Print Books:
Power to the people : the graphic design of the radical press and the rise of the counter-culture, 1964-1974 - FOLIO Z 1033 U58 P69 2013
Soap, sex, and cigarettes : a cultural history of American advertising (has chapter on Civil Rights) - HF5813.U6 S55 2012
Articles and web links:
Leave No Trace (1987-present)
Articles and Web Links:
- Leave No Trace Center for Outdoor Ethics Link to website of organization that promotes low-impact use of outdoors
National Mental Health Awareness Campaign (SAMHSA) (1999-present)
Articles and Web Links:
Social Responsible Design - History and General Information
If you do a subject search in the library's online catalog using the terms listed below, you should find additional relevant titles.
- Commercial Art
- Commercial Art--History
- Graphic Arts
- Graphic Arts--History
Print Books:
Black, Brown + Latinx Design Educators : Conversations on Design and Race: NX 650 R34 W35 2021
Citizen Designer: Perspectives on Design Responsibility - NK 1505 C54 2003
Conscientious Objectives: Designing for an Ethical Message - NC 998.4 C73 2003
The Design Activist's Handbook: How to Change the World (or at least your part of it) with Socially Conscious Design - NC 997 S33 2012
Design of Dissent: FOLIO NC1806.8 G58 2005
Designing for Social Change: Strategies for Community-Based Graphic Design (NOTE - has section/information on design briefs) - NC 997 S455 2012
Design Justice: Community-Led Practices to Build the Worlds We Need - NK 1520 C675 2020
Do Good Design: How Designers can Change the World - HF 5413 B47 2009
Extra Bold : A Feminist, Inclusive, Anti-racist, Non-binary Field Guide for Graphic Designers - NK 1520 E98 2021
GOOD: An Introduction to Ethics in Graphic Design - FOLIO NC997 R576 2006
Graphic design: A new history: FOLIO NC 998 E85 2012
Graphic design, referenced: a visual guide to the language, applications, and history of graphic design: NC 997 G565 2009
Graphic design 20th century: NC 998.4 P87 2003
Just design: Socially conscious design for critical causes: NC 1002 L63 S54 2011
Meggs' history of graphic design: FOLIO Z 246 M43 2012
A People's Art History of the United States: N 72 P6 L37 2013
Electronic Resources:
- AIGA Design for Good Includes information on Design for Diversity and Inclusion, Design for Democracy, and Women Lead Topics.