Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remote access to databases requires a 7-digit College ID number.
The HR Assignment has many suggested websites and other resources from your instructor. This database can be used to find additional resources and is also useful for the Marketing Assignment.
Business Source Premier
Use this database for the Current Events and Stock Assignments. Includes journal articles, magazine articles, company and industry profiles. Bloomberg Businessweek and Harvard Business Review articles are found here.
Use this database for the Current Events and Stock Assignments. Covers five major newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal.
This database will be useful for the Marketing Assignment. It includes several books in the Principles of Business series.
This source can be used for the Current Events Assignment. Use the E-Journal Finder to determine if a particular periodical is available in full text in the library's print or electronic collection or to see which journals the library has access to under a particular subject.
Stock Assignment Tips
This tip sheet will help you to search Business Source Premier and ProQuest Newspapers by company name and date range.
Books & Media Catalog
Use the online catalog to conduct a keyword search to find additional sources for the HR and Marketing Assignments. Be sure to note:
- the collection of the item (Books, Reference, etc.)
- the item's call number
- whether the item is available or has been checked out
- if the item is an e-book or Web site, use the embedded link to access it
- Most of the library's databases are not completely full text, so please check the box to limit to full text if the database provides one. Generally speaking, if there is no full text checkbox, then the database contains all full text sources (ex. Gale eBooks, Salem Online).
- Search with keywords, not sentences:
- Full sentence: What is age discrimination and who does it cover in the workplace?
- Major concepts: "age discrimination" and employment
- Tip: When using "basic search" put an and between terms. You can also switch from "basic search" to "advanced search" in any database to search more than one term at once by filling in the search boxes. If you need to limit your search to a particular date range, then use the "advanced search."
- Be flexible about search terms. Think of synonyms and related terms you can try if your initial search strategy doesn't produce the results you want. You may need to use different terms for different databases.
- The types of sources you find will depend on the databases you search:
- For background information on topics, Gale eBooks and Salem Online are great places to search. The specialized encyclopedias and other reference sources will be most helpful for the HR and Marketing Assignments.
- For articles from specialized business journals and magazines, try Business Source Premier.
- For articles written for a general audience, check out ProQuest Newspapers.
- Many of the databases will show a suggested APA citation. It's fine to start with these citations, but it is your responsibility to check them for accuracy and make corrections based on the library's APA handouts, the Pocket Style Manual, etc. Click on the Citing Sources tab at the top of this guide for access to APA handouts, tutorials, and more. Make sure you are using the library's updated handouts for APA 7th Edition.
Tip: Research is a trial and error process, and librarians are happy to help you brainstorm or find articles! Chat with us during library hours, or Email anytime.