Business and Accounting Research Guide: MKTG 201 - Maszarose/Titus - FA/SP
Recommended databases
Start here
A login is required for off-campus access.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes many specialized reference sources like the Encyclopedia of Management and the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance that can be used as background sources for assignments. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes journal articles, magazine articles, company and industry profiles, and published SWOT analyses.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCovers five major newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal.
- Salem Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes several books in the Principles of Business series.
- Hoover's Business Profiles This link opens in a new windowDatabase of company profiles and key financials. Companies that are large and publicly traded receive the most coverage.
Books & Media Catalog
Use the online catalog to conduct a keyword search to find additional sources, particularly for the Marketing Plan Assignment. Be sure to note:
- the collection of the item (Books, Reference, etc.)
- the item's call number
- whether the item is available or has been checked out
- if the item is an e-book or Web site, use the embedded link to access it
Search tips
Search tips
- Most of the library's databases are not completely full text, so please check the box to limit to full text if the database provides one. Generally speaking, if there is no full text checkbox, then the database contains all full text sources (ex. Gale eBooks, Salem Online).
- Search with keywords, not sentences:
- Full sentence: How do companies go about setting themselves apart from the competition?
- Major concepts: "competitive advantage" and differentiation
- Tip: When using "basic search" put an and between terms. You can also switch from "basic search" to "advanced search" in any database to search more than one term at once by filling in the search boxes. If you need to limit your search to a particular date range, then use the "advanced search."
- Be flexible about search terms. Think of synonyms and related terms you can try if your initial search strategy doesn't produce the results you want. You may need to use different terms for different databases.
- The types of sources you find will depend on the databases you search:
- For background information on topics, Gale eBooks and Salem Online are great places to search. The specialized encyclopedias and other reference sources will be helpful for all of the assignments.
- For articles from specialized business journals and magazines, try Business Source Premier. One aspect of the Marketing Plan Assignment is to create a SWOT Analysis of a company. If you would like to see what a SWOT Analysis looks like, this database includes published analyses of many large, publicly traded companies.
- For articles written for a general audience, check out ProQuest Newspapers.
- For statistics compiled on a wide variety of subjects, try Statista.
- Many of the databases will show a suggested APA citation. It's fine to start with these citations, but it is your responsibility to check them for accuracy and make corrections based on the library's APA handouts, the Pocket Style Manual, etc. Click on the Citing Sources tab at the top of this guide for access to APA handouts, tutorials, and more. Make sure you are using the library's updated handouts for APA 7th Edition.
Tip: Research is a trial and error process, and librarians are happy to help you brainstorm or find articles! Chat with us during library hours, or Email anytime.