English for Speakers of Other Languages Research Guide (ELL-095): Reference Resources
Why Start with Reference Sources?
Start researching a topic by reading an article in a general or specialized encyclopedia, also known as reference sources.
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print reference books are located on the main floor of the library.
They are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress system.
Electronic reference sources are available through the catalog under Find Books and under the link for Online Reference Resources below.
- Using Reference Resources: Where to Start Your Research (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Online Reference ResourcesElectronic reference sources purchased by the library and organized by subject
- Using Wikipedia for Academic Research (video)Wikipedia is a reference source because it is an encyclopedia
Selected Reference Ebooks
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social IssuesISBN: 0313392056
Encyclopedia of American Disability HistoryISBN: 9781438126722
The Gale encyclopedia of diets : a guide to health and nutritionISBN: 141449887X
Gale eBooks
The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas for the Gale eBooks collection.
These ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students. Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access e-books with a computer off-campus.
These books can be identifed by searching the catalog or by searching the Gale platform below:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search the entire library using the search box at the top of the screen, or select a topical area from the menu on the left and search only within that area.
Find Facts & Topics Ideas: Selected Reference Books
Try electronic reference sources or visit the Reference Collection in the library to find the titles below by call number.
- Encyclopedia of Social IssuesCall Number: Ref HN 57 E59
- Encyclopedia of Social ProblemsCall Number: Ref HN 26 E55
- Encyclopedia of PsychologyCall Number: Ref BF 31 E52
- Encyclopedia of Human BehaviorCall Number: Ref BF 31 E5
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural PsychologyCall Number: Ref BF 531 E55
- Encyclopedia of EthicsCall Number: Ref BJ 63 E45
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaCall Number: Ref E 184 A1 G14
- Encyclopedia of Environmental ScienceCall Number: Ref GE 10 M66
- Encyclopedia of Business and FinanceCall Number: Ref HF 1001 E466
- Encyclopedia of Conflict ResolutionCall Number: Ref. HM 136 B783
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticeCall Number: Ref HM 671 E53
- Encyclopedia of Social PsychologyCall Number: Ref HM 1007 E53
- Social Issues in AmericaCall Number: Ref HN 57 S624
- Encyclopedia of Family LifeCall Number: Ref HQ 534 E53
- Contemporary Youth CultureCall Number: Ref HQ 796 C8154
- Women's IssuesCall Number: Ref HQ 1115 W6425
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive BehaviorCall Number: Ref HV 5804 E53
- Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate CrimeCall Number: Ref HV 6768 E63
- Encyclopedia of American EducationCall Number: Ref LB 17 U54
- Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and TechnologyCall Number: Ref Q 175.35 B37
- Encyclopedia of BioethicsCall Number: Ref QH 332 E52
- Encyclopedia of Health and BehaviorCall Number: Ref R 726.5 E53
- Encyclopedia of Mental HealthCall Number: Ref RC 437 E47