English for Speakers of Other Languages Research Guide (ELL-095): Find Articles
A guide to resources for persuasive papers on controversial topics
What are Research Databases?
Research databases contain articles from periodical publications such as:
- Scholarly journals
- Magazines
- Newspapers
These articles are published daily, weekly, or monthly (periodically).
The library subscribes to these databases yearly.
Databases may contain:
- The full text of some articles
- A combination of full text and citations/abstracts
- An abstract is a summary of the article
- Images and audio
- Articles from reference books
Use the Help screens for information on how to search or ask a librarian
Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access databases with a computer off-campus.
Tutorials & Help with Databases
- Finding a Periodical Article (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleVisual representation and description of the various parts of a scholarly article
Current Issues Databases (pro/con)
The following databases include articles on major issues of the day.
They provide information on both sides of the issue.
- Browse by topic to choose a topic or
- Use the topic structure to find a chosen topic
- Use the Advanced search to limit or narrow the search in various ways
- CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
General databases (all subjects)
- General databases include articles on all subjects
- Limit the search to full text articles only
- Look at the language used in subject headings
- Construct searches with those words
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowVery large database including scholarly articles from all subject areas