ELL-095

You should search library databases when trying to find sources for your articles. Library databases offer free full-text access to thousands of journals, magazines, and newspapers (all of which are called periodicals), so get your money's worth and take resources from them! Here are some suggestions to help you get started with your research:

1. Use limiters! Limiters are features to help you "limit" a search by certain criteria, such as date or subject. EBSCO databases offer date limiters on the main search page, as shown below:

Full-text and date limiters can help you eliminate old, unhelpful, and irrelevant results. Always include a date limiter at a minimum.

2. Use subject headings! Subject headings return results about a specific subject, while general keyword searches (what you do in Google) only return results that happen to contain those keywords. Subject headings can be found on the search results screen in EBSCO databases, as shown below:

3. Limit your searches to the databases listed below, which are most likely to contain helpful sources for this assignment:

• Opposing Viewpoints 

  Pro/con database of social issues.

• MasterFILE Premier 

  Multidisciplinary database with mainly general interest periodicals.

• ProQuest Newspapers 

  Full-text access to 5 major U.S. newspapers

• Health Source - Consumer Edition 

  Nearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines.

• ProQuest Consumer Health 

  Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, such as sports injuries and women's health