Communications & Speech Research Guide: Find Articles
A guide to resources for choosing a speech topic, presentation tips, and information sources for speech and interpersonal communication topics.
Recommended databases
Start here
- CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database with mainly general interest periodicals.
Search Tips
Using limiters narrows your search results:
- ALWAYS click the Full text box
- If you need a journal article, click Peer-reviewed (some databases use Scholarly or Academic)
Use the Advanced search to create more complex searches with multiple concepts:
- Use one or two words NOT full sentences
- put multiword phrases in quotation marks ( "minimum wage")
- "And" narrows the search to require that both concepts are present in each result: communication AND gender
Other resources
Health, Business, Education databases
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, company and industry profiles.
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowNearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines.
Newspapers
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- *Carroll County TimesFreely available on the Internet. Browse the current issue and search an archive of selected articles dating back to 2000.
Statistics
- Knoema: World Data AtlasFacts & figures on geography and social conditions in countries of the world including agriculture, education, environment, etc.
- Census BureauPrimary source for census information about the United States: population, housing, economic, and geographic data