Physical Therapist Assistant Research Guide: Find Articles
OneSearch
Getting started
To locate magazine or journal articles, do not start with a web search. You might be asked to pay for article retrievals.
Instead, use one of our periodical databases in the next column to do your research. You will need your seven digit ID for off campus searches. Students and staff can also browse a list of all CCC physical therapy journals (print and electronic).
Magazines vs. Journals
Your instructor might require you to find journal articles, not magazine articles. Use the attachment to understand the difference between journals and magazines.
Electronic Resources
Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books. From off campus, you will need to enter your college e-mail address and password. For SCHOLARLY articles, you will be best served by starting with Health Source: Nursing/Academic, ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health, or Academic Search Complete.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including journals and popular periodicals.
- Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowOver 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowThis database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowCumulative index to nursing and allied health literature. Limited full-text availability.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowNearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines.
- ProQuest Consumer Health This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, such as sports injuries and women's health.
- ProQuest Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Print Periodicals
The following journals are available in the Library on the Periodical Shelves. Issues cannot be checked out, but articles can be photocopied.
ACSM'S Health and Fitness Journal
Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews
JOSPT (Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy)
Physical Therapy (01/01/2010 - 12/31/2019)
Physiotherapy
Tutorial - Finding Articles
Use our periodicals tutorial to learn how to search for these resources in our databases.