Education Research Guide: Find Articles
A guide to resources in education
What are Research Databases?
Research databases contain articles from periodical publications such as:
- Scholarly journals
- Magazines
- Newspapers
These articles are published daily, weekly, or monthly (periodically).
The library subscribes to these databases yearly.
Databases may contain:
- The full text of some articles
- A combination of full text and citations/abstracts
- An abstract is a summary of the article
- Images and audio
- Articles from reference books
Use the Help screens for information on how to search or ask a librarian
Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access databases with a computer off-campus.
Tutorials & Help with Databases
- Finding a Periodical Article (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleVisual representation and description of the various parts of a scholarly article
General databases (all subjects)
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowVery large database including scholarly articles from all subject areas
Finding Periodicals
Do you need an article listed in the references of another article or in the bibliography of a book?
To learn how to find out what periodical titles are available in this library in full text and what years are available, take this tutorial on our E-Journal Finder.
- Have a Citation? Find the Article! (tutorial)Learn how to use the E-Journal Finder & find out about Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan - order articles from other librariesCheck the E-Journal Finder above to see if a title is available in this library in any format--if not, order it from another library for free using this online form
Exchange Magazine
- Exchange (E-Journal) This link opens in a new window"Exchange magazine is a bimonthly publication focused on the administration of programs for young children. Our goal is to support center administrators with workable strategies, practical advice, and down-to-earth ideas for dealing with the serious responsibilities and demands they face each day."
Education databases
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowA large database of journal and non-journal education literature containing citations/articles back to 1966--from the U.S. Department of Education
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new windowCountry, state, and province reports for a K-12 audience
Psychology databases
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
Free Education Journals
- *Directory of Open Access Journals: EducationDirectory of scholarly journals freely available on the Internet--list of education journals