Theatre, Entertainment Technology, and Acting Research Guide: Film & Television

By title, decade, rank. Search by director and actors. Features such as top box office, category, Oscars, quizzes, and more. Ads.

Summary and full reviews from the New York Times at the time of release. No reviews since 2004. Ads.

Search by title provides basic information about the movie with links to reviews. Author of reviews listed. Ads.

Library of Congress National Film Preservation Board list of movies that have been selected to be culturally, historically, or esthetically important. Brief descriptions and expanded essays are available for many Registry titles. Check the "Watch Films..." link to view many historic films.

Film reviews and ratings from the famous Roger Ebert as well as other professional movie critics; current and historical reviews; search by film, year, rating, genre, reviewer

Hundreds of free downloadable scripts from movies, tv, radio, musicals. Oscars, plays.

Large collection of scripts. Search by title or genre. Includes tv scripts.

From the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation; more than 850 interviews with industry professionals; plus industry information of all types

"AFANA's mission is to provide an "archive, resource, and forum for continuing scholarly advancement and public exhibition [of academic films]" as well as historically important films not specifically in the academic genre, including anthropological, ethnographic, and medical subjects.

Search the Academy Awards database by title, performer, or credits.

Known for its 100 Years lists of things like villans and heros.

Lots of information. Research Guide is a gateway to good film links.

Interactive glossary from Columbia University's Columbia Center for New Media Teaching and Learning.

Movie information includes stills, clips, trailers, plot summary, awards, cast, genre, location, quotes, trivia, etc. Movie lists, trivia, new releases and more.

free access to more than 12,000 legally licensed film clips from 2,000+ films

Includes thousands of feature films; television episodes; cultural, ephemeral & academic films; news, public affairs, arts & musical performances; even videogame footage!
Streaming or download material.

at University of Wisconsin-Madison, one of the largest and most significant collections of media history in the world

Kurt Andersen's public radio program that covers music, movies & TV, Art, Design, Performance, Science & Tech, and Books; archives include shows since 2000.

Information on the first decade of film history. Timeline, pioneers, technology, topics index.

Provides access to 16 European film archives. Probably easiest to browse by Collection, or original language.