English A - E Research Guide (Introduction to Academic Writing): Find Articles
What are Research Databases?
Research databases contain articles from periodical publications such as:
- Scholarly journals
- Magazines
- Newspapers
These articles are published daily, weekly, or monthly (periodically).
The library subscribes to these databases yearly.
Databases may contain:
- The full text of some articles
- A combination of full text and citations/abstracts
- An abstract is a summary of the article
- Images and audio
- Articles from reference books
Use the Help screens for information on how to search or ask a librarian
Users will be prompted for their college e-mail address and password to access databases with a computer off-campus.
Tutorials & Help with Databases
- Finding a Periodical Article (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleVisual representation and description of the various parts of a scholarly article
Current Issues Database
Opposing Viewpoints includes articles on major issues of the day such as social & environmental issues.
It provides information on both sides of the issue.
- Browse by topic to choose a topic or use the topic structure to find a chosen topic
- Use the Advanced search to limit or narrow the search in various ways
- Construct more complex searches using AND to narrow the search
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowIncludes opposite views from various sources on major issues of the day--academic journals, news articles, magazine articles, statistics, reference sources, primary sources, websites, audio, video, and images.
Talking to Databases
General databases (all subjects)
- General databases include articles on all subjects
- Limit the search to full text articles only
- Whenever you see subject headings, pay attention to those words
- Construct searches with those words in the Advanced Search
- Find articles completely about that subject
- Choose Subject from the drop-down menu
- Add another concept in the second search window to narrow the search
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowVery large database including scholarly articles from all subject areas
History Database
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowThis database includes articles from reference books & articles from journals & magazines.
To limit the search to journal or magazine articles, complete a search and then select those 2 categories from the Source Types list on the left & update.
Finding Periodicals
Do you need an article listed in the references of another article or in the bibliography of a book?
To learn how to find out what periodical titles are available in this library in full text and what years are available, take this tutorial on our E-Journal Finder.
- Have a Citation? Find the Article! (tutorial)Learn how to use the E-Journal Finder & find out about Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan - order articles from other librariesCheck the E-Journal Finder above to see if a title is available in this library in any format--if not, order it from another library for free using this online form