English A - E Research Guide (Introduction to Academic Writing): Evaluating Sources - Find a Reference Source, a Book, & an Article on a Social Issue
A guide to library resources for ENG A - E assignments
Finding Reference Sources, Books, & Articles
Evaluate Sources for Use in a Research Paper
For this step, you are to find 3 reliable sources (a book, a Reference source, & an article) on the topic that you choose from Activities 1)e. Suggested topics:
|
|
- To find a reference book, select one of the titles below that might include background information on your topic you have chosen.
- To find a book, use the Find Books tab above to search the Catalog.
- Print books have a call number and this icon:
- Ebooks have a link and this icon:
- You will need your college ID number to open ebooks at home.
- Print books have a call number and this icon:
- To find an article, search the Opposing Viewpoints database. This database provides a variety of pro and con articles on major issues of the day.
- A link is provided in the box below the Electronic Reference Sources box.
- You will need your college ID number to open database articles at home.
Evaluating Sources Links
- Evaluating Information SourcesUse the following criteria to distinguish the quality information from the CRAAP
- They Are Not All MagazinesUnderstanding the difference between periodicals
Electronic Reference Sources for Social & Environmental Issues
International encyclopedia of the social sciencesISBN: 9780028661179See articles on militarism; disarmament; consumerism; racism; overpopulation; weaponry, nuclear; materialism, etc.
Encyclopedia of contemporary American social issuesISBN: 9780313392047
Issues in U.S. immigrationISBN: 9781619257085
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behaviorISBN: 9780028661148
Environmental encyclopediaISBN: 9781414487397
Encyclopedia of environmental issuesCall Number: REF GE 10 E523 2011ISBN: 9781587657351Also available in print
The Oxford international encyclopedia of peaceISBN: 9780195334685
Encyclopedia of philosophyCall Number: REF B51 E53 2006ISBN: 0028660722See articles on materialism; philosophy of technology; peace, war, & philosophy; pacifism, etc.
Also available in print
An encyclopedia of war and ethicsISBN: 0313291160
Print Reference Sources for Social & Environmental Issues
Call numbers for print Reference titles start with REF.
- Use the number to find the item on the shelf in the Reference Collection on the Main Floor of the Library.
Encyclopedia of activism and social justiceCall Number: REF HM671 E53 2007ISBN: 9781412918121See articles on specific activists plus topics such as nonviolence & activism, pacifism, anti-nuclear movement, etc.
Social issues in America : an encyclopediaCall Number: REF HN57 S624 2006ISBN: 0765680610
Encyclopedia of social problemsCall Number: REF HN28 E55 2008ISBN: 9781412941655
Encyclopedia of ethics in science and technologyCall Number: REF Q175.35 B37 2002ISBN: 0816043140See articles on consumerism, materialism, population, nonviolent resistance (Gandhi), disarmament, birth control, birthrates, nuclear weapons, race, etc.
Encyclopedia of applied ethicsCall Number: REF BJ 63 E44 2012ISBN: 9780123736321See articles on pacifism; racism; nuclear deterrence, testing, & warfare, etc.
EthicsCall Number: REF BJ63 E54 2005ISBN: 158765170XSee articles on consumerism, nonviolence, pacifism, etc.
Encyclopedia of bioethicsCall Number: REF QH332 E52 2004ISBN: 0028657748See articles on population ethics (overpopulation), nuclear weapons, technology, etc.
Undocumented immigrants in the United States : an encyclopedia of their experience. Volume 1, A-J : ; Volume 2 , K -ZCall Number: JV 6475 U48 2014ISBN: 9780313384240
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas from the Gale Virtual Reference Library collection and from other ebook vendors.
Ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students. The student ID number is required for access from a computer located off-campus.
- All ebooks can be identified by searching the catalog under Find Books above or
- Search only the Gale platform using the link below:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search the entire library using the search box at the top of the screen, or Select a topical area from the menu on the left and search only within that area.
Find Articles in Journals, Magazines, & Reference Books
Use the Opposing Viewpoints database below (or under the Find Articles tab above) to find articles on social and environmental issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles on controversial topics from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources
Use the Advanced Search link at the top right under the Search box/button to limit the search results.
Limit the search to academic journals, magazines, and news articles.
Viewpoints articles are very difficult to cite.