English A - E Research Guide (Introduction to Academic Writing): Find a Reference book on Martin Luther King
Why Start with Reference Sources?
Start researching a topic by reading an article in a general or specialized encyclopedia, also known as reference sources.
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print reference books are located on the main floor of the library.
They are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress system.
Electronic reference sources are available through the catalog under Find Books and under the link for Online Reference Resources below.
- Using Reference Resources: Where to Start Your Research (tutorial)From Carroll Community College Library
- Online Reference ResourcesElectronic reference sources purchased by the library and organized by subject
- Using Wikipedia for Academic Research (video)Wikipedia is a reference source because it is an encyclopedia
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The library purchases authoritative Reference ebooks in all subject areas from the Gale Virtual Reference Library collection and from other ebook vendors.
Ebooks are available 24/7 to Carroll students. The student ID number is required for access from a computer located off-campus.
- All ebooks can be identified by searching the catalog under Find Books above or
- Search only the Gale platform using the link below:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search the entire library using the search box at the top of the screen, or Select a topical area from the menu on the left and search only within that area.
Suggested Reference Books
To find a reference book about Martin Luther King, think about what kind of book might include articles on this well known African American and his ideas.
The library has a number of excellent reference sources in print and electronic format that contain information about African Americans, civil rights in America, civil rights activists and related topics.
- For instance, if you are interested in King's philosophy, try the Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
- Because he was a proponent of non-violence and peaceful negotiation, King can also be found in the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace.
Some of these sources are listed below:
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the AmericasCall Number: REF E185 E54 2006ISBN: 0028658167See the Index for a list of Civil Rights Activists profiled in this 6 volume source.
The African American encyclopediaCall Number: REF E185 A253 1993ISBN: 1854355457See the Index in Vol. 6 for a list of Civil Rights Activists profiled in this multi-volume encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of activism and social justiceCall Number: REF HM671 E53 2007ISBN: 9781412918121See articles on specific activists.
Encyclopedia of philosophyCall Number: REF B51 E53 2006ISBN: 0028660722See article on Martin Luther King
Available in print & as an ebook
Oxford international encyclopedia of peaceISBN: 9780195334685See the article on Martin Luther King
Only available as an ebook
The Civil Rights movementCall Number: REF E185.61 C6124 2000ISBN: 089356169XIncludes a time line in Vol. 2
The encyclopedia of civil rights in AmericaCall Number: REF E185.61 E544 1998ISBN: 0765680009Includes a chronology of events in Vol. 3
