History 101 Library Activities: Crusades
Crusades - Starting Places
What made a bunch of folks from western Europe hop on their horses and ride to the Levant to fight the Muslim kingdoms? When did all this happen and why?
Print Sources:
Debate of the Crusades - D 156.58 T94 2011
Encyclopedia of the Crusades - REF D155 A6 2003 (Note - This book cannot be checked out)
The First Crusade: The Call from the East - D 161.2 F74 2012
Holy Warriors: A Modern History of the Crusades - D 157 P55 2010
Electronic Sources:
- Jerusalem Crusades From the World History Encyclopedia
- Crusades From "The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students."
Crusades - Christians
Print Sources:
The Crusader States - D 182 B37 2012
People of the First Crusade - D 161.2 F 67 1997
Electronic Resources:
- Christian and Islamic Histories of the Crusades From World History Encyclopedia.
- Ethical Perspectives: Did the Crusades Represent a Distortion of the Christian Message? From History in Dispute.
- The Middle Ages Series : Crusades and the Christian World of the East : Rough Tolerance Ebook on reactions of Christian communities in the Middle East to Western crusaders.
- The Peoples’ Crusade of 1096 From the World History Encyclopedia.
Crusades - Knights and Nobles
- Sacred and Secular Authority in the Latin West From the World History Encyclopedia
Crusades - Pope Urban and the Papacy
- Urban II, Pope From "The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students."
Crusades - Muslims
Print Sources:
The Cross and the Crescent: A History of the Crusades - D 157 B55 1988
The Crusades Through Arab Eyes - DS 38.6 M3213 1985
Infidel Kings and Holy Warriors: Faith, Power and Violence in the Age of Crusade and Jihad - DE 94 C37 2014
Electronic Sources:
Crusades - Jews and other Religious/Ethnic Minorities
Crusades - Economics and Social Outcomes
- Crusades, economic and social features of From the Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
- Economic Motives: Were the Crusades Motivated Primarily by Economic Considerations? From History in Dispute
Subject Guide
1601 Washington Rd.
Westminster, MD 21157
Office: L094
Phone: (410) 386-8335