History 101 Library Activities: Theses
Theses - Starting Places
The following resources will help you find information about the history, participants, and controversies surrounding Martin Luther's posting of the Theses. Print sources will either be located on the main level (Reference) or lower level (these can be checked out). Follow the links to get to the electronic sources. You may need your full Carroll CC email address and password to get into these off-campus..
Print Sources
The European Reformations - BR 305.2 L486 1996
Luther: An Illustrated Biography - FOLIO BR325 M28513 1982
A People's History of Christianity - REF BR195 C5 P46 (Does not check out, but does have section on the Reformation and Luther)
The Reformation: A History of European Civilization from Wyclif to Calvin, 1300-1564 - CB53 .D85 1985
Electronic Sources:
- Luther: A Guide for the PerplexedEbook providing basic information on the life and theology of Martin Luther.
- Protest and Reform From the World History Encyclopedia. An overview of the Reformation and its outcomes.
- Reformation Germany From the World History Encyclopedia.
Theses - Missions and the rise of Missionaries
- Catholic Response and the Rise of New OrdersFrom the World History Encyclopedia.
- The Jesuits and Intellectual Inquiry From the World History Encyclopedia. One of the Catholic Missionary orders sent to the New World, also wound up combating spread of Protestantism.
- Portuguese and Spanish Justifications for Conquest From World History Encyclopedia, briefly discusses conversion of native populations as justification for Spanish and Portuguese conquest.
Theses - Martin Luther
Print Sources:
Luther: A Life - BR 325 T59 1982
Luther: Man between God and the Devil - BR 325 O2713 1989
Martin Luther - BR 325 B69313 1985
Electronic Sources:
Theses - The Catholic Church
Print Sources:
Trent and all that: Renaming Catholicism in the Early Modern World - BR 430 O45 2002
Electronic Sources:
- The Catholic Response and the Rise of the New Orders From the World History Encyclopedia.
Theses - The Protestants
Print Sources:
Protestants: The Birth of a Revolution - BR305.2 .O89 1992
The Protestant Reformation - BR 305.2 S66 1987
Electronic Sources:
- Protestantism Long article from the Encyclopedia of European Social History. First third is relevant to the class.
Theses - Nation States and Secular Authorities
Print Sources:
The Unitended Reformation: How a Religious Revolution Secularized Society - BL 2747.8 G74 2012
Electronic Sources:
- Sacred and Secular Authority in the West From World History Encyclopedia.
Subject Guide
1601 Washington Rd.
Westminster, MD 21157
Office: L094
Phone: (410) 386-8335