Music Research Guide: Sheet Music/Lyrics/Public Domain Music

Search over 50,000 uncensored lyrics by song, artist, band, album. Keyword searching. Commercial site with lots of ads. Anyone can submit lyrics but they are apparently checked for accuracy.

Approximately 450,000 pieces of sheet music, anthologies, and arrangements for band and orchestra are included. Includes music for theater, film, radio, and television as well as the usual popular music genres. Links to more sheet music sites.

Archive of over 2500 scores and MIDI files. Searchable by composer, title, type of piece, voice, and more. Indexed. Viewing requires plug-ins. See "system requirements" for information.

Well organized large directory of links to sheet music by instrument. Not all sites are completely free. Includes many sound files and good directions on downloading.

Scroll down to see a large collection of sheet music and mutli-media links.

Over 29,000 pieces of sheet music of American popular music covering 1780-1980 with some focus on 19th century and war time music. Extremely well-indexed. Browse by over 100 categories or search by numerous fields like location of publisher, illustrator, dedicatee. Covers and music downloadable and printable.

Think of this a Musical Google! Search by song, artist, lyric fragments, etc.

Site with links maintained by a professional musician and SKDesigns. Includes comprehensive pages of links to lyrics, some scores, and MIDI files.

Compiled by a music professor at Acadia University, these links are available to download. Some require a particular format to print. Many are PDFs.

Free sheet music page has links to a lot of sheet music sites.

Commercial site which gives good explanation of public domain and copyright. Sheet music, downloads, CDs, and books are for sale.