Music Research Guide: Rock and Roll and Popular Music

Articles, artist bios, information on their 500 greatest songs.

Scroll down the page to the web links related to the history of rock and roll. Topics include roots, explosion, transition to mainstream, folk influence, soul, British invasion, 1960's blues revival and psychedelia, hard rock and black music in the '70's, punk, the 80's and rap. Collected by a librarian at Cuyahoga Community College.

Use the search box to get to biographical information which includes analysis of the songs or click on "Inductee Exhibits" where writers are listed by era--Early American Song, Tin Pan Alley, Rock 'n Roll.

Scroll down for the list of "500 songs that shaped rock and roll". Information on the artists under "Exhibits".

lots of information. Includes sound files, timeline, roots and influences, information on the record companies and the DJs as well as categories of music: New Orleans, West Coast, Hot Rod, Surf, Second Wave, Soul, Rockabilly, Guitar, Early 60's Pop, Girl Groups, Vocal, Garage Bands, etc. Author's credentials unknown.

Fairly comprehensive coverage of artists from 1920-2000. Includes sound files, videos, and stills.

"Inductees" section has biographies of the artists. "Explore the Music" includes sound files, and a subsection on the "History of the Music" which includes a separate history on the Grand Ole Opry.

News, charts (with samples), new releases, reviews.

Kurt Andersen's public radio program that covers music, movies & TV, Art, Design, Performance, Science & Tech, and Books; archives include shows since 2000.