Music Research Guide: Genres of Music

Information on libretti, source texts, performance histories, synopses, composers, librettists, list of operas, access to the educational Opera for Everyone CDs which cover Madama Butterfly, Carmen, La Traviata, and The Barber of Seville. List of operas with fewer that six performers.

Commercial site with many links to opera resources, some of which are selling opera merchandise like sheet music or CDs.

Searchable database of the text and translations of most of the over 1100 arias and MIDI files for some. Maintained by a voice instructor.

Comprehensive site created by a professor of musical theatre history. Well organized, attractive, and easy to use, the site has history in general as well as history of specific musicals and performer biographies. Reviews, essays, how to put on a musical are included. Covers 1700-2000's. Information on vaudeville, minstrel shows, and burlesque also.

Scroll down page for links by geographic region.

Commercial site with annotated links by genre, artist, and world music basics.

Short composer biographies, index of music by form, style and instrument, glossary, composers by geographic area. Information compiled by faculty at various colleges.

CD reviews, information on composers, extensive subject bibliography, 3800 classical music links.

Commercial site includes ads as well as searchable articles, free downloads, interviews, cd reviews, news, events and concerts.

Recordings, film, essays, biographies, band information on jazz before 1930. Easy to use. Good search engine. Essay author's credentials unknown.

Site is packed with information about history, styles, improvization, piano chords and scales, guitar chords, theory, and harmony. Includes a timeline and glossary. Material is copyrighted and printing appears to be blocked.

Online version of a textbook by a jazz musician. Includes a short history, fundamentals, theory, scales and chords, and accompanying and playing with other musicians.