Music Research Guide: Web Sites

From the Library of Congress. Includes print, video, audio in the fields of music, theater, and dance. Links to special collections of scores, sheet music, and more.

Huge site with reviews, biographies, news, blog, sound files, overviews of types of music (pop/rock, jazz, r & b, country, blues, world, electronica, classical, gospel), countries, themes, instruments). Detailed information on recordings and ....

An online platform for sounds, words, and ideas from the American Musicological Society

Many well-organized links including the usual and unusual--bootlegs, censorship, charts, downloads, equipment, music videos, DJs, games, software, tabulature, etc.

Music section of classic pop culture magazine website. Most articles are paid-access only but the Carroll library has digital access via Academic Search Complete database

Navigate via the left-hand menu to access the extensive library and archives of the Rock & Rock Hall of Fame; includes specialized research guides on rock genres, musicians/bands, individual songs, etc.

Search by individual songwriter, decade, or induction ceremony year. Information includes, biographical, of song analyses, connection with other songwriters/performers.

Scroll down for the list of "500 songs that shaped rock and roll". Information on the artists under "Exhibits".

Classic and rare rock videos for viewing free online.

lots of information. Includes sound files, timeline, roots and influences, information on the record companies and the DJs as well as categories of music: New Orleans, West Coast, Hot Rod, Surf, Second Wave, Soul, Rockabilly, Guitar, Early 60's Pop, Girl Groups, Vocal, Garage Bands, etc. Author's credentials unknown.

Collections tab takes to the digital archive of audio and video recordings, print materials, and images. Hall of Fame tab links to inductee information including biographical essays, recordings, photos, videos, etc.; Exhibits tab links to current online exhibits

News, charts (with samples), new releases, reviews.

Commercial site includes ads as well as searchable articles, free downloads, interviews, cd reviews, news, events and concerts.

Site is packed with information about history, styles, improvization, piano chords and scales, guitar chords, theory, and harmony. Includes a timeline and glossary. Material is copyrighted and printing appears to be blocked.

Online version of a textbook by a jazz musician. Includes a short history, fundamentals, theory, scales and chords, and accompanying and playing with other musicians.

Short composer biographies, index of music by form, style and instrument, glossary, composers by geographic area. Information compiled by faculty at various colleges.

CD reviews, information on composers, extensive subject bibliography, 3800 classical music links.

Definition, characteristics, philosophy, composers, and links to more information.

Comprehensive site housed at Stanford University. Information on libretti, source texts, performance histories, synopses, composers, librettists, list of operas, access to the educational Opera for Everyone CDs which cover Madama Butterfly, Carmen, La Traviata, and The Barber of Seville. List of operas with fewer that six performers.

Commercial site with many links to opera resources, some of which are selling opera merchandise like sheet music or CDs.

Searchable database of the text and translations of most of the over 1100 arias and MIDI files for some. Maintained by a voice instructor.

Comprehensive site created by a professor of musical theatre history. Well organized, attractive, and easy to use, the site has history in general as well as history of specific musicals and performer biographies. Reviews, essays, how to put on a musical are included. Covers 1700-2000's. Information on vaudeville, minstrel shows, and burlesque also.

Collection of links from the University of Washington Libraries. Scroll down page for links by geographic region.

Commercial site with annotated links by genre, artist, and world music basics.

Music theory lessons, exercises, and a long list of theory and composition-related tools such as tempo tapper, scale display showing various modes for each key, etc.

Open access music theory textbook by Dr. Robert Hutchinson from the University of Puget Sound

Open access scholarly journal from the Society for Music Theory

Features dozens of instruments from the Wesleyan University World Instrument Collection. Instrument profiles include multiple photographs from various angles, descriptors, geographic regions; some also have a demonstration video; site also has a beta version interactive world map - instruments associated with countries/regions are being added periodically

Non-profit organization that promotes "the study of the history, design, and use of musical instruments in all cultures and from all periods". Long lists links on instruments, history of instrument makers, instrument making, lots more.

Non-profit organization dedicated to the study of musical instruments. Scroll down to the collection of "Links to Other Musical Instrument Web Pages" for some interesting links including unusual musical instruments sources.

Commercial site maintained by a musicologist/librarian which contains several pages of annotated links and a bibliography of helpful print reference sources.

Excellent searchable resource sponsored by the West Mesa Music Teachers Association. Includes tips for teachers and piano students, interviews, reviews of software, sound files for over 600 piano pieces, kid stuff, news, articles, information on ...

Site maintained by professional guitarist has scores, a beginner's page, MIDI files, links to other guitar sites, and more.

From the Word Star free dictionary site. Scroll down to the dictionary. Select key, chord, tuning, and handedness.

Personal site provides a list of composers by name, date, or nationality. Links from names provide more information.

Short bios and complete list of works for hundreds of composers of classical music. Requires a paid personal subscription is to hear full recordings or download MIDI files but you can listen to 60-second clips for free

Free sheet music page has links to a lot of sheet music sites.

Search over 50,000 uncensored lyrics by song, artist, band, album. Keyword searching. Commercial site with lots of ads. Anyone can submit lyrics but they are apparently checked for accuracy.

Well organized large directory of links to sheet music by instrument. Not all sites are completely free. Includes many sound files and good directions on downloading.

From a Duke University collection. Over 3000 printable, digitized images including cover illustrations. Some emphasis on Southern music. Search by keyword, name, and subject. Information included on copyright.

Over 29,000 pieces of sheet music in the Johns Hopkins University collection. American popular music covering 1780-1980 with some focus on 19th century and war time music. Extremely well-indexed. Browse by over 100 categories or search by numerous fields like location of publisher, illustrator, dedicatee. Covers and music downloadable and printable.

Archive of over 2500 scores and MIDI files. Searchable by composer, title, type of piece, voice, and more. Indexed. Viewing requires plug-ins. See "system requirements" for information.

Commercial site which gives good explanation of public domain and copyright. Sheet music, downloads, CDs, and books are for sale.

Large collection of digital scores and libretti

Approximately 450,000 pieces of sheet music, anthologies, and arrangements for band and orchestra are included. Includes music for theater, film, radio, and television as well as the usual popular music genres. Links to more sheet music sites.

Links to the digital music score collections of dozens of universities and libraries throughout the United States.

Non-profit organization videos such as interviews with famous musicians and music educators.

Site for music professionals hosts discussion groups, reviews books, sells publications, posts professional meeting and job notices, and contains music links.

Web site created by Enoch Pratt Free Public Library. Links to local resources in the following areas: production, education, musician/band listings, opera companies, orchestras, music societies, record labels, stores carrying local music, media outlets, shows & concerts, festivals, venues, local music MP3s.