This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Research Guide: Western Civilization 2

This guide will point students to print and online sources which are useful when researching historical topics.

Reference sources - Western Civilization 2

The Library owns a number of print reference and electronic reference sources which will support historical research.  Reference tools are a good place to begin one's search.  The following are some specific titles which can be used for the time period covered by Western Civlization 2.

Ref. D 23 B45 2005 Berkshire encyclopedia of world history
Ref. D 421 G63 2008 Great events from history. The 20th century
Ref. D 510 E53 2005 The encyclopedia of World War I :
a political, social, and military history
Ref. D 740 E516 2005 The encyclopedia of World War II: 
a political, social, and military history
Ref. D 840 E63 2008 The encyclopedia of the Cold War
Ref. DS 35.53 O95 1995 The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world
Ref. DS 43 E53 2004 Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa
Ref. G 1030 O94 1999 Oxford Atlas of World History
Ref. DS 31 E53 1988 Encyclopedia of Asian History 

  

Salem History

Salem History is a collection of Web-based ebooks that deal with a number of topics.  The following sources are included in Salem History: The Encyclopedia of Immigration, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, and Milestone Documents (1940s-1990s)