History Research Guide: History of Ancient Rome
This guide will point students to print and online sources which are useful when researching historical topics.
Ancient Rome - web sites
There are numerous Internet resources on Ancient Rome and history which can supplement the other sources in this guide. Most of the following include search functions by keyword.
- Internet Ancient History SourcebookAn extensive collection of full text documents and resources organized by civilization (e.g. Greek, Roman).
- The Roman Empire in the First CenturyA companion site to a public television series with well illustrated information on Roman civilization and history.
- Perseus Digital LibraryA huge collection of documents and commentary on Greco-Roman civilization. Searchable by keyword.
- Rome - Republic to EmpireA companion site to a course on Ancient Rome.
Primary Sources
Use these resources to find out about primary sources, what they are, and where to find them.
E-books:
Bartleby's - A selection of ebooks that includes primary source material. In particular, check out the titles "World's Famous Orations," and "Harvard Classics," for some great examples.
Web-based information:
- Avalon Project at Yale Law SchoolLegal documents, treaties, and orations from throughout history, worldwide, going back to 4000 BCE. Also links to analytical and supporting documents.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryA gateway to a collection of primary documents on European History, from Prehistoric to Modern.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebooka huge collection of links to text files, museums, images, etc. Includes some primary sources.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebooka huge collection of links to text files, museums, images, etc. Includes some primary sources.
- Perseusa huge digital library of ancient texts and commentary. Searchable by keyword. Includes some primary sources.
- Primary Sources: The Library: University of California-BerkeleyA comprehensive source for learning what constitutes a primary versus a secondary source, including a list of examples.