History Research Guide: Western Civilization 1
This guide will point students to print and online sources which are useful when researching historical topics.
Western Civilization 1 - Websites
There are a number of quality research-oriented websites available that may assist in locating information about Western Civlization. In addition to the general history web sites listed under the web sites tab, the following may be of interest.
- Ancient Greecea wealth of information on Ancient Greece including art, geopgraphy, wars, culture, etc.
- British Museum - Ancient Egyptdescriptive materials and pictures gleaned from the Museums extensive collection of Egyptian artifacts.
- Classics Pagean award winning collection of links and text files dealing with the ancient world.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European Historya gateway to a collection of primary sources on European History from Prehistoric times to Modern.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebooka huge collection of links to text files, museums, images, etc.
- The Labyrinthwell organized collection of electronic resources in medieval studies. Hosted by Georgetown University.
- Life in Ancient Egyptbased on the collection of Egyptian artifacts held at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History, this site provides a wealth of information on daily life, religion, culture, and customs.
- Luminarium Encyclopediaan evolving scholarly encyclopedia of who's who and what's what in Medieval and Renaissance England
- Middle Agesan interactive media-rich web site which provides text and activities describing the arts, culture, economics, and daily life of feudal times.
- NetSERFa vast collection of Internet sites all dealing with Medieval civilization and studies.
- ORB: Online Reference Book in Medieval Studiesa scholarly collection of articles and lectures dealing with all aspects of the Middle Ages.
- Perseusa huge digital library of ancient texts and commentary. Searchable by keyword.
- Renaissancean interactive media-rich web site which provides text and activities describing the arts, culture, economics, and daily life of the renaissance period.
- Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion: The Reformationa collection of links to primary and secondary sources dealing with the Protestant Reformation
- World History: HyperHistorya colorful timeline with information on science, culture, history, politics of each time period. Clickable timeline format.
- World History InternationalWorld History Essays from Prehistory to the Present
Primary Sources
Use these resources to find out about primary sources, what they are, and where to find them.
E-books:
Bartleby's - A selection of ebooks that includes primary source material. In particular, check out the titles "World's Famous Orations," and "Harvard Classics," for some great examples.
Web-based information:
- Avalon Project at Yale Law SchoolLegal documents, treaties, and orations from throughout history, worldwide, going back to 4000 BCE. Also links to analytical and supporting documents.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryA gateway to a collection of primary documents on European History, from Prehistoric to Modern.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebooka huge collection of links to text files, museums, images, etc. Includes some primary sources.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebooka huge collection of links to text files, museums, images, etc. Includes some primary sources.
- Perseusa huge digital library of ancient texts and commentary. Searchable by keyword. Includes some primary sources.
- Primary Sources: The Library: University of California-BerkeleyA comprehensive source for learning what constitutes a primary versus a secondary source, including a list of examples.