This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Research Guide: Vikings Attack!

This guide will point students to print and online sources which are useful when researching historical topics.

We're Vikings

Start here if you're researching Vikings.  The links below will take you to books, articles, and web pages dealing with your group.  Happy pillaging!

Background Information:

Viking Raids from The Middle Ages

Vikings and the Viking Age from The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Print Books and Ebooks about Vikings (note: check catalog to make sure print books are checked in):

Print Books:

A History of the Vikings         DL 31 J6 2001

Norse Mythology                     BL 860 L56 2001

The Viking Age: A Reader      DL 65 V545 2010

The Vikings: A History            DL 65 F467 2009

E-Books:

We're Commoners

Start here if you're researching Commoners and everyday life in the early middle ages among the bulk of the population.  The links below will take you to books, articles, and web pages dealing with your group.  And remember, you don't have to outrace the Vikings, just the slower commoners.  Run!

Background Information:

European Peasant Society in World History Encyclopedia

Peasantry in the Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Social Classes in The Middle Ages

Books and Ebooks about Commoners (note: check catalog to make sure print books are checked in):

Daily Life in the Middle Ages      CB 353 N46 2001

Life in a Medieval Village            HN 398 E45 G54 1989

Women in Frankish Society       HQ 1147 F7 W45 1981

General Historical Information for the Early Middle Ages

The following sources will give you background and general information on the early middle ages and what was happening in your corner of the world.

Background Information:

The Middle Ages

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia, v.1

Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia, v.2

The World History Encyclopedia

General Resources Books and Ebooks (note: check catalog to make sure print books are checked in):

The Early Middle Ages                      D 117 O57 2007

Framing the Early Middle Ages

Medieval Britain: A Very Short Introduction   DA 175 G57 2000

General Web Resources:

 

We're Monks

Start here if you're researching monks and monastic communities in the early middle ages.  The links below will take you to books, articles, and web pages dealing with your group.  If there are Vikings in your vicinity, you can start praying about now...

Background Information:

Clergy in the Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Monasticism in The Middle Ages

Nunneries, Merovingian, (6th to 8th centuries) in Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia, v. 2

Print Books and Ebooks about Monks (note: check catalog to make sure print books are checked in)::

Print Books:

How the Irish Saved Civilization            DA 930.5 C34 1996

The Rise of Western Christendom      BR 162.3 B76 2013

E-Books:

We're in Charge Here (We Think...)

Start here if you're researching the ruling classes in the early middle ages.  The links below will take you to books, articles, and web pages dealing with your group.  Enjoy your kingdom while it lasts.

Background Information:

European States and Empires 650-1000 A.D. in World History Encyclopedia

Carolingians from The Middle Ages

Merovingians from The Middle Ages

Merovingian and Carolingian Armies in World History Encyclopedia

Nobility in the Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Nobles and Nobility from The Middle Ages

Books and Ebooks on Nobles and Kings (note: check catalog to make sure print books are checked in):

Print Books:

Anglo-Saxon England and the Norman Conquest    HC 254 L6 1991

Barbarians to Angels            D 117 W45 2008

The Inheritance of Rome      CB 351 W49 2009

E-Books:

Subject Guide

Jeremy Green's picture
Jeremy Green
Contact:
Carroll Community College Library
1601 Washington Rd.
Westminster, MD 21157
Office: L092
Phone: (410) 386-8335